Who won the 2009 national championship?

Who won the 2009 national championship?

Gators of Florida The Florida Gators won their second BCS National Championship in three seasons thanks to Tim Tebow's two touchdown throws and Percy Harvin's two-yard touchdown run. The Gators defeated the Oklahoma Sooners 24-14 in front of a record crowd of 78,468 at Dolphin Stadium. It was the first BCS title game win for Florida since 1999 and only the third time it has beaten Oklahoma in Norman. From 1997 to 2000, Florida played Ohio State for the right to go to Pasadena but lost all four games by an average margin of 26 points. In 2009, Florida ended that streak by defeating Ohio State 28-22 in Gainesville.

Tebow started his third season as Florida's quarterback after being replaced by Caleb Hamilton at the end of 2008. Despite missing most of 2007 with a knee injury, Tebow led the Gators to a 9-0 record and to No. 1 ranking before losing to Alabama in the SEC Championship Game. This year, he finished with 3,438 passing yards, 32 touchdowns and nine interceptions while running for 612 yards and seven more scores. He also had six total touchdowns (five passing, one rushing) in the BCS Title Game against Oklahoma.

Harvin led the Gators in receiving with 997 yards and 11 touchdowns before going down with a hip injury early in the fourth quarter of the BCS Title Game.

Who won the national championship in 200?

The victory gave Florida State the 1999 BCS national title and ended the Seminoles' season with an unblemished 12-0 record. Florida State became the first college football team to start the season rated No. 1 and finish it ranked No. 1 by being ranked No. 1 throughout the season. The Seminoles received all but one vote from the Associated Press during the regular season.

Florida State defeated Miami (Fla.) 34-7 in the Fiesta Bowl on New Year's Day 2000 to claim its second national championship. The 'Noles were the unanimous choice of the ten voters that made up the AP panel. Quarterback Charlie Ward led a balanced FSU offense that gained over 400 yards against Miami's defense that was ranked last in the nation. Ward finished the game with four touchdowns passes and no interceptions while rushing for another score. He also played well defensively, making several key stops behind a shaky Florida State defensive line that only two players topped 500 pounds.

In 1995, Florida State lost the Rose Bowl to California 20-16 when Pat O'Neill missed a field goal as time expired. The following year, the Seminoles returned to Pasadena for the Fiesta Bowl where they faced off against Michigan. This time, Florida State beat Michigan 49-37 to win its first national championship. Drew Weatherford passed for three touchdowns without an interception while running for another score. On defense, Tim Bowens had nine tackles including one for a loss while Keith Lewis recorded seven tackles including one sack.

Who did Alabama play in 2009 for the national championship?

The BCS National Championship would pit No. 1 Alabama against No. 2 Texas. The Crimson Tide defeated the Longhorns 37–21 in the BCS National Championship Game to win their first BCS title. This was also Alabama's third straight year playing in the championship game and fourth overall.

Texas played in the 2008 Rose Bowl against Michigan State. Alabama won that game 42-14 and earned its spot in the 2009 BCS National Championship Game.

Alabama has been ranked No. 1 in the preseason AP Poll every year since 2005, when it began the season as such before losing at home to USC. The Crimson Tide have won at least 10 games each year during that span, including 11 last season. They have also made at least one appearance in the BCS National Championship Game every year since 2005. Alabama is looking to continue its dominance in 2009 with a chance to win its third consecutive title.

Texas joined the Big 12 back in 2012 after winning the 2011 BCS Title with Texas A&M. The Longhorns are looking to make their first BCS bowl appearance since 2006 when they went 8-4 on the season. They ended up going down to Oklahoma in the Big 12 Championship Game where they lost 34-27.

Both teams have very impressive offenses but I think you have to go with Alabama because of its defense.

What ACC teams have won national championships?

Totals broken down by school

InstitutionNicknameNCAA Championships (as of May 30, 2021)
Boston CollegeEagles6
Clemson UniversityTigers3
Duke UniversityBlue Devils17
Florida State UniversitySeminoles9

Who has the most national championships in the Big 12?

Sooners of the University of Oklahoma The University of Oklahoma Sooners are the current Big 12 champions, having won 14 championships. They have more than any other school. OU has won at least one championship in every year that the conference has existed.

Huskers of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln The Nebraska Huskers athletic program first fielded a team in 1895. They currently hold two Big 12 Championships - 1999 (football) and 2008 (basketball). If you include both the football and basketball titles, Nebraska has earned three titles in total. Nebraska's last season in the Big 12 was 2014-15. After that season, they will move to the Southeastern Conference.

Texans of the University of Texas At Austin The Texas Longhorns athletic program first fielded a team in 1891. They currently hold five Big 12 Championships - 1910 (football), 1911 (football),1924 (football), 1975 (baseball), and 2005 (men's golf). If you include all four of its football titles, Texas has earned six total titles. The Longhorns' last season in the Big 12 was 2012-13. After that season, they will also move to the SEC.

Rams of the University of California, Los Angeles The UCLA Bruins athletic program first fielded a team in 1947.

About Article Author

Daniel Moran

Daniel Moran is a sports enthusiast and journalist. He loves to write about the latest trends in sports, and provides accurate information for sports fans. Moran's interests include golf, tennis, and cycling.

Related posts