Who was the youngest quarterback to win a Super Bowl?

Who was the youngest quarterback to win a Super Bowl?

Did you know that? Ben Roethlisberger, just 23, became the NFL's youngest Super Bowl champion in 2006, guiding the Pittsburgh Steelers to a 21-10 victory over the Seattle Seahawks in Super Bowl XL. Mr. Jason Peters (January 22, 1982-Present) from St. Louis is the current record holder for being the youngest quarterback in NFL history. He started three games at quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys in 2011 after Tony Romo was injured.

Youngest player: George Mira (May 26, 1895 - January 13, 1915), American football player who played one season with the Chicago Maroons of the National Football League. At age 17 years, 3 months, Mira was too young to be drafted into the United States Army during World War I. However, because he already had one year of college education, he signed a contract with an NL team (which at that time was allowed by the league). After playing only one game (as a substitute for an injured player) and throwing only one pass, he was released by the team. Dead at age 20.

Oldest player: Robert Gillespie (March 4, 1877 - December 31, 1956), American football player who played one season with the Philadelphia Athletics of the National Football League.

Who’s the youngest person to win a Super Bowl?

It's time for Fantasy Football Extra! Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger is the youngest player in NFL history to win a Super Bowl, having done it as a 23-year-old in 2005. Brady previously held the record when he won Super Bowl XXXVI at the age of 24 years and six months. He has since been surpassed by Carson Palmer (25) and Eli Manning (27).

Roethlisberger beat out both Palmer and Manning by two years. The other two quarterbacks appeared in their teams' victories during the fifth season of their respective careers. Brady played in New England's 16-13 overtime victory over Seattle in Super Bowl XLIX. Manning led Denver to a 43-8 blowout of Indianapolis in 2015.

Here are the ages of all 32 current starting quarterbacks in the NFL: Ben Roethlisberger (23), Tom Brady (24), Aaron Rodgers (27), Andrew Luck (28), Philip Rivers (33), Russell Wilson (34), Cam Newton (25), Joe Flacco (28), Matt Ryan (28), Kirk Cousins (29), Derek Carr (30).

Only three players younger than 25 have started an NFL game: Roethlisberger, Brady and Alex Smith (26). Of the remaining 29 starters, only three were under 30 when they first started an NFL game: Roethlisberger, Brady and Manning.

What quarterback won the Super Bowl as a rookie?

Even Patrick Mahomes couldn't make it happen that quickly. More information about the youngest quarterback to ever win a Super Bowl can be found below, as well as some of the youngest athletes to ever get a ring... youngest Super Bowl winners.

PlayerBryant Young
Player Age22
Year (Super Bowl No.)1995 (29)

Who was the lowest-rated quarterback in Super Bowl history?

The only quarterback on this list who has won the Super Bowl is Ben Roethlisberger. His 22.6 passing rating is the lowest for a winning quarterback in Super Bowl history. He threw two interceptions in the red zone, the second of which Seattle's Kelly Herndon recovered for a Super Bowl-record 76 yards. The interception was returned for a touchdown by Richard Sherman with just over 10 minutes left in the third quarter to give the Seahawks a 12-7 lead.

Roethlisberger had another poor game statistically, completing 20 of 42 passes for 228 yards and no touchdowns, an interception and a 92.9 passer rating against Seattle's stellar defense. He was sacked five times and hit nine more times as the Seahawks dominated both sides of the ball in one of the greatest performances in NFL history.

After his first two seasons with Pittsburgh, where he lost 16 games each time, Big Ben signed with San Diego in 2015. He played all 16 games that season and threw for 3,426 yards with 28 touchdowns vs. 13 interceptions. He also ran for four scores.

In 2016, Roethlisberger missed eight games due to injury and wasn't at full strength when he did play. He finished the season with 5,109 passing yards, 36 touchdowns vs. 21 interceptions and a 75.3 rating.

During his seven-year career, Roethlisberger has been involved in or has started 93 games.

Who is the oldest quarterback to win a Super Bowl?

Who is the oldest quarterback in Super Bowl history? Tom Brady is the oldest quarterback in Super Bowl history to start and win the game. When his Patriots defeated the Rams 13-3 in Super Bowl 53 in February 2019, he was 41 years old. The most recent quarterback to win a Super Bowl at age 40 or younger was John Elway who led the Denver Broncos to their first title in Super Bowl XXXII over the Seattle Seahawks. Elway started at quarterback for the Broncos from 1995 to 1997 but lost all three of those games.

Brady became the fourth-oldest quarterback to win a Super Bowl when he beat the Rams in 2019. He joined Frank Gifford of the New York Giants who won at age 38 in 1970; Roger Staubach of the Dallas Cowboys who won at age 37 in 1977; and Joe Kapp of the Washington Redskins who won at age 36 in 1983.

Brady is also the only quarterback in Super Bowl history to score multiple touchdowns before the end of the first quarter. His Patriots scored 30 points before the end of the first period in 2019, winning by 33-30.

The oldest quarterback to ever play in a Super Bowl was Dan Marino of the Miami Dolphins. At age 39, he threw for four touchdowns and 419 yards during the 1990 season. That year's Super Bowl was played between the Dolphins and the Chiefs.

About Article Author

Jose Wang

Jose Wang is a veteran of the sports industry. He's been involved in sports for over 30 years, and has held positions such as president, director of marketing and public relations. Jose's passion is basketball, and he's well respected among his peers for his knowledge of the game and ability to analyze statistics.

Related posts