Who was the WWE Diva of the Year in 2009?

Who was the WWE Diva of the Year in 2009?

On December 14, 2009, the event was held in the American Bank Center in Corpus Christi, Texas. Dennis Miller hosted the event. The "Diva of the Year" award was selected by a fan poll conducted on WWE's website. Winners are listed first, with their names highlighted in boldface. WrestleMania XXV: Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker was named the greatest wrestling DVD of all time in a poll conducted by Online Wrestling Magazine.

Shawn Michaels won the poll with 42% of the vote. He beat out Mick Foley (who had 21% of the vote) and The Undertaker (9%).

Also in the voting were Bret Hart (7%), Roddy Piper (5%) and Ricky Steamboat (1%). There were also two other people named who had less than 1% of the vote each: Amy Davis (0.5%) and Lita (0.3%).

Michaels went on to win the match against Undertaker at WrestleMania XXV. He earned another shot at the Title later that year at No Mercy. However, he lost to The Undertaker at this event too.

After WrestleMania XXV, Michaels took a break from wrestling and hasn't returned since. His wife, Kelly Michaels, has been running his business affairs during his absence.

In 2012, Paul Heyman won the Diva's Award over Charlotte, Naomi, and Victoria.

When was the last WWE Divas Championship held?

WWE Divas Championship; Years Unified WWE Divas Championship September 20, 2008-April 3, 2016

The WWE Divas Championship is a professional wrestling championship contested by female wrestlers within the World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) promotion. It was created and debuted on January 4, 2008 at The Big Apple Rally in New York City. The inaugural champion was chosen via vote from WWE's website. Later that year at December to Dismember, Stephanie McMahon (then known as Stephanie Davis) won the title from Stacy McGunnigle (then known as Stacey Gallagher). As with all WWE championships, it can be won or lost during any point in time. However, once earned, the title cannot be taken away from the holder.

It is the second oldest world women's championship still in existence (after the GFW Women's Championship), but it is not the first world women's championship in WWE history. That distinction belongs to the WWF Women's Championship, which was introduced in February 1998 and existed until January 2001 when it was replaced by the original Divas Championship.

The term "Divas" originally referred to the female dancers in a Las Vegas show called the Rat Pack.

Who are the winners of the WWE Diva contest?

Christy Hemme, Ashley Massaro, Layla El, Eve Torres, and Eva Marie were among the other winners. In addition to the yearly contest winners, WWE has hired several contestants as Divas, the name WWE gave to female performers at the time. These include: Hemme, Masaro, El, Torres, and Marie.

The first WWE Women's Championship was won by Martha Hart under her real name. She defeated Velvet McIntyre in a tournament final held at WrestleMania II in New York City. The title would later be renamed the WWF Women's Championship (the original NWA World Women's Championship had been abandoned after only being active for a few months).

McIntyre would go on to lose the title to Helen Kelly at the 1987 Royal Rumble. Kelly would then lose the title to Leilani Kai at the 1988 Survivor Series. This is when Vince McMahon decided to create his own championship to replace the one that had been created by the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA).

Kai would eventually lose the title to Terri Runnels at the 1989 Royal Rumble. Runnels would hold the title for nearly two years before losing it to Sassy Sally at the 1991 Royal Rumble. Sally would then lose the title to Shawn Michaels' replacement, Debra Marshall, at the 1992 Survivor Series.

When did Mickie James become a WWE Diva?

When she beat Maryse Mizanin on July 26th, 2009 at WWE Night of Champions, she became the third ever Diva to become WWE Divas Champion (2009). When she was eleven years old, her grandma purchased her a horse, and she has loved riding horses ever since. At some point during high school, Mickie started wrestling as "Mickie James" in amateur shows and independent events. In 2001, she began training under Adam Copeland at the World Wrestling Federation (WWF)'s developmental territory, WWF Edgeville, where she debuted in April 2002.

As Mickie worked her way up through the ranks, she often clashed with other female wrestlers including Cindy Lou Williams, Lita, and Beth Phoenix. The rivalry between Mickie and Phoenix came to a head when both women competed in a match for the vacant Unified Divas Championship at Unforgiven 2003. The championship changed hands twice in the course-blocked match, which also included Lita and Williams. In the end, Mickie pinned Phoenix to win the title.

She lost the title to Trinity at WrestleMania 23, but won it back from Trinity at SummerSlam 2004. She lost the title to Michelle McCool at Survivor Series 2004. After this match, Mickie left the company to pursue a career in acting.

In January 2005, Mickie returned to WWE at the Royal Rumble event.

About Article Author

David Roark

David Roark is a passionate and knowledgeable individual when it comes to sports. He has been playing sports his whole life and loves to talk about them. Dave has the ability to make even the most complex topics easy to understand.

Related posts