Who was the Super Bowl champion in 1982?

Who was the Super Bowl champion in 1982?

It's Super Bowl XVII. The 1982 Super Bowl XVII was a football game between the American Football Conference (AFC) champion Miami Dolphins and the National Football Conference (NFC) champion Washington Redskins to determine the National Football League (NFL) champion. The game was played on February 3, 1982, at Stanford Stadium in Palo Alto, California. The Redskins defeated the Dolphins by the score of 27–10.

The MVP for this game was Doug Flutie of the Miami Dolphins. He led his team to victory with three touchdown passes and was not intercepted once during the game.

This was the first Super Bowl held in California. It is also known as the "Miami Miracle" because it was there where the Dolphins came from behind to defeat the favored Redskins. This game has become famous for its dramatic ending because of one missed field goal by Dan Maynard with no time left on the clock.

Maynard's miss sent the game into overtime, where the Dolphins won it with a Flutie touchdown pass.

This game brought in a record setting 111.4 million television viewers, which at that time was believed to be a record for any sporting event. It still stands today as the most-watched TV program of all time.

Who were the teams that won the Super Bowl in the 1980s?

In the 1980s and 1990s, the NFC's franchises won 16 of the 20 Super Bowls. During these years, teams such as the San Francisco 49ers, Chicago Bears, Washington Redskins, and New York Giants stood out.

The Pittsburgh Steelers, Denver Broncos, and Dallas Cowboys also made names for themselves during this time period by winning multiple Super Bowls each. However, none of these teams have yet to win back-to-back titles.

In fact, no team has won more than two consecutive Super Bowls. The Green Bay Packers are the only franchise to accomplish this feat, having won three straight from 1992 to 1994.

However, there was one game during this period where a team appeared to be defeated before coming back to win. In 1991, the Buffalo Bills were leading the Miami Dolphins 14-0 early in the fourth quarter when quarterback Doug Flutie led them on a 90-yard touchdown drive that he finished off with a 7-yard run. But the comeback wasn't enough as the Dolphins went on to beat Buffalo 19-14.

Another interesting fact about the Super Bowl during the 1980s is that it was played every year from 1981 to 1995 except in 1984 (when it was canceled due to labor disputes) and in 1989 (when it was canceled because of the Tiananmen Square protests).

What year was the fourth Super Bowl?

On January 11, 1970, Tulane Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana, hosted the fourth and final AFL-NFL World Championship Game in professional American football. By a score of 23-7, the American Football League champion Kansas City Chiefs beat the National Football League champion Minnesota Vikings. The AFL's triumph tied the Super Bowl series with the NFL at two games apiece, as the two leagues merged after the game. Despite the AFL's presence in New York...

Tulane Stadium opened its doors in 1964 after three years of construction time. The stadium was home to the New Orleans Saints from 1967 to 1972 before they moved to their current home, the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The last World Championship Game played at Tulane Stadium saw the Vikings defeat the Pittsburgh Steelers by a score of 10-3.

In 2013, the Super Bowl 50 will be played at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. The game will mark the first time that Arizona has hosted the event. The stadium is the second largest in the world (behind Levi's Stadium in Santa Clara) and can hold 75,000 people. It is also the first North American sports facility to be made entirely out of concrete.

The stadium was built by the Phoenix metropolitan area leaders who didn't want to pay for a new stadium. They chose the site on which it would stand and let private industry build it. The leadership hoped that this would generate cash that would help pay for the project. But since no company was willing to risk its money on such a small market, the job had to be done by hand.

Did the 49ers win the Super Bowl in 1981?

The 49ers defeated the AFC Champions, the Cincinnati Bengals, in Super Bowl XVI. Joe Montana opened the 1981 season as the starting quarterback for the San Francisco 49ers. Montana has two fourth-quarter comeback wins. In the first game of the season he led the 49ers to a 23–17 victory over the Atlanta Falcons. In his second game as a starter he led them to a 24–13 victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers. The 49ers went on to lose the next three games before winning their final four games and tying for first place in the NFC West with a 9–7 record. The top-seeded 49ers then beat the St. Louis Cardinals 26–21 in the NFC Championship Game before defeating the Miami Dolphins 34–27 in the Super Bowl.

In the Super Bowl, Montana passed for 215 yards and 3 touchdowns while rushing for 55 more yards and a touchdown himself. He also had a passing interception returned for a touchdown by John Lynch. After trailing 21-3 at halftime, the Dolphins came back to lead by one point (28-27) with 4:59 left in the fourth quarter. On their last drive of the game, the 49ers moved the ball downfield but turned the ball over on downs with 1:50 remaining. On defense, the 49ers stopped the Dolphins on their own 20-yard line with no time left on the clock.

About Article Author

George Bray

George Bray is a man of many talents. He's a good golfer, boxer, and wrestler. But George's true passion is sports management. He loves working with other people to bring their sports dreams to life.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts