Who was the quarterback for the Cowboys in Super Bowl XII?

Who was the quarterback for the Cowboys in Super Bowl XII?

Despite leading the 49ers 27-21 late in the fourth quarter, they were defeated 28-27. Joe Montana of the San Francisco 49ers led his team on an 89-yard game-winning touchdown drive, connecting with Dwight Clark in a play remembered as The Catch. In Super Bowl XII, the Cowboys faced the Broncos. The game was close throughout, with each team winning by less than 10 points -- the closest finish in Super Bowl history. But at the end of the day, it was Montana who got the job done when he needed to most.

He was also the quarterback for the Chiefs in 1969 when they beat the Minnesota Vikings 16-13 in the NFL Championship Game. That was also played in Miami. And like the Cowboys-Broncos game, it was close throughout. With under a minute left, Kansas City had first and goal from the 4-yard line. They opted not to go for it but instead kicked away the ball. It was decided later that week that Kansas City head coach Hank Stram had lost his mind when he made that decision! With no timeouts remaining, Minnesota could have stopped them but didn't. The Chiefs won their second championship in three years.

Who did the Cowboys beat in the Super Bowl in 1994?

The Buffalo Bills The Cowboys defeated the Bills for the second year in a row, 30-13, to win their fourth Super Bowl, matching the Pittsburgh Steelers and the San Francisco 49ers for the most Super Bowl wins. The game took place on January 30, 1994, in Atlanta's Georgia Dome. Tony Dorsett started for the Cowboys, but he missed the game with a knee injury. Dan Marino of the Miami Dolphins was voted the game's most valuable player.

In the first quarter, the Bills took a 13-0 lead over the Cowboys on their first two possessions. First, Jim Kelly completed a 16-yard pass to Andre Reed at the Dallas 4-yard line. Two plays later, Reed scored on a 29-yard catch-and-run to make it 13-0 Buffalo.

In the second quarter, the Bills increased their lead to 20-0 on three consecutive drives that consumed nearly eight minutes off the clock. The first one ended with a 1-yard touchdown run by James White. His second run of the day went for 26 yards and a third one went for 9 more before he finished it with a 5-yard touchdown run to make it 20-0 Buffalo at the end of the first half.

In the third quarter, the Cowboys got on the board when Drew Bledsoe found Terry Glenn for a 3-yard touchdown pass to make it 20-7 Buffalo.

Who did the Cowboys face in the Super Bowl?

The Steelers were beaten by the Cowboys 27-17. The Super Bowl was held on January 28, 1996, at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe, Arizona, marking the first time the event was held in the Phoenix metropolitan region.

The game was played between the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Dallas Cowboys. The Cowboys defeated the Steelers by a score of 27-17 to win their second championship.

This was the first Super Bowl played in Arizona. The state had not hosted the event before 1995, when it moved out of California for political reasons. The Cardinals had been scheduled to play in this game, but they withdrew due to concerns over security after two incidents occurred at previous Super Bowls: the mass brawl at the 1993 game in Miami and a hostage situation at MetLife Stadium in 1994. The Cardinals replaced them in the lineup with the Seattle Seahawks, who were originally from Texas Pacific University in San Diego. The Cardinals had planned to have some local players participate in the game, but injuries prevented that from happening.

The Cowboys became the first team since the 1972 Miami Dolphins to come back from a 17-point deficit to win a Super Bowl. They did so by scoring 21 points in the fourth quarter alone to turn what seemed like a lost cause into a victory. Quarterback Troy Aikman had three touchdown passes and no interceptions while playing with a broken bone in his hand.

What year were the Cowboys in the Super Bowl?

Pittsburgh Steelers (27-17) Buffalo Bills, 199430-13 Dallas Cowboys vs. Denver Broncos-27-10-1978 Miami Dolphins, 197224-3 Dallas Cowboys/NFL Championships The Cowboys went on to dominate the NFL for the better part of a decade, winning Super Bowls in 1993, 1994, and 1996. Smith, Emmitt, 2007. The New York Times Sports Encyclopedia: The Modern Era. New York: New York Times Publishing, 2007.

In fact, the Cowboys have won more than they've lost since 1970, including playoff games. With their victory over the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 1994 Super Bowl, the Cowboys became the first team ever to win three consecutive Super Bowl titles.

They continued their dominance in 1995 by defeating Atlanta Falcons after an overtime game winner made by Troy Aikman, then in his second season as a starter. The following year, they faced off against Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers at Sun Devil Stadium in Arizona. With time running out in the fourth quarter, Aikman threw a touchdown pass to Michael Irving who was covered by Packer's cornerback LeRoy Butler. This is known as "The Catch II" because it is considered one of the greatest catches in Super Bowl history. The Cowboys lost that game but still managed to win their fourth title in five years later when Trent Dilfer passed for two touchdowns in the last minute of the game to beat the Denver Broncos.

After those four championships, things started going downhill for Jerry Jones' team.

About Article Author

Jerry Keeley

Jerry Keeley is an athlete. He's competed in wrestling, and sumo wrestling, and he's won medals in both. Jerry can still lift the heaviest person in the room. He's not as big as he used to be, but he's still got it!

Related posts