Who was the man of the match in the 2011 Cricket World Cup?

Who was the man of the match in the 2011 Cricket World Cup?

Yuvraj Singh of India was named the tournament's MVP. For the first time in World Cup history, two Asian countries met in the final. It was also the first time since the 1992 World Cup that Australia did not play in the final match. Yuvraj Singh contributed 68 runs across four matches at an average of 12.50 and took three wickets. He was involved in three of his country's victories.

Australia's Ricky Ponting was the highest run scorer with 754 runs at an average of 57.66. He scored five centuries and a high score of 158 not out against South Africa. Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was the most successful bowler with 19 wickets at an average of 15.32. He captured three wickets in an innings seven times and had two five-wicket hauls.

India won its first World Cup title after defeating Australia by one run in the final at Mohali, Punjab. This is the second time that India has defeated Australia in a World Cup final. The previous time was in 1987 when India won the inaugural event held in England.

India's triumph was not only historic but also came as a surprise to many considering that they were supposed to be one of the weakest teams in the tournament. However, under Dhoni's leadership, they turned it around very quickly and dominated their opponents in all aspects of the game.

Who was the leading batsman in the 2004 Cricket World Cup?

The West Indies were competing in their first World Cup final. Shikhar Dhawan was awarded player of the tournament and the highest run-scorer, while Enamul Haque of Bangladesh took the most wickets. Incidentally, all three players are Indian.

Shikhar Dhawan played an important part in all four of the West Indies' victories. In one of the games, he scored a brilliant century to help his team overcome India by nine runs. He finished as the top scorer at the tournament with 466 runs at an average of 50.50.

Enamul Haque took five wickets in the tournament - three in each innings of a rain-affected game against India. He also scored a rapid half-century on debut against Australia before being dismissed for 57.

Asad Rauf was the other star performer for the West Indies. The 32-year-old opener scored two centuries and helped his team reach the final four times the number of appearances made by its opponents. He retired after the conclusion of the tournament.

In short, Shikhar Dhawan led the tournament in runs while Enamul Haque took the most wickets. Asad Rauf was the best batsman not to score a hundred but managed two half-centuries.

Who was the first ODI World Cup winner?

So far, six teams have won the One-Day International Cricket World Cup. On January 5, 1971, Australia and England played the inaugural One-Day International (ODI) match at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The first men's World Cup was held four years later, in 1975, while the first women's World Cup was held two years earlier, in 1973. Australia were the winners of both tournaments.

Australia became the first team to win back-to-back ODI World Cups when they defeated India by one wicket in the final on February 19, 2011. Australian captain Steve Smith was named man of the match for his outstanding performance with the bat and also for having taken three catches. This is the third time that Australia have won the title. The previous two occasions were in 1975 and 2001.

India are the current ODI World Champions after defeating Australia by one wicket in the final. This is India's second world cup victory after they beat New Zealand in the final last year. Before this win, India had not won a single ODI match.

South Africa were the other team to win the first ODI World Cup in 1971. They defeated Pakistan by seven runs in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. This was also the only time in history that two African nations have reached the finals of a major international tournament together - Egypt and Kenya were the runners-up in the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.

Who was the man of the tournament in 1992?

The following page contains information about every World Cup Man of the Tournament award recipient since 1992. The Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992 was the International Cricket Council's fifth world cup. It took place in Australia and New Zealand from February 22 to March 25, 1992. This world cup marked the birth of modern cricket. Before this date, world cups had only been held once before - in 1975 - when England defeated India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

There were four main regions that teams could qualify through: Asia/Pacific, Africa, Europe (which included the Caribbean), and North America. Qualification was based on performance in international cricket between 1986 and 1991. A total of $10 million was on offer with $3 million going to the winner.

Here are the lists of winners by region:

Asia/Pacific: Mohammad Azharuddin Indian cricketer (India)

Africa: Malcolm Waller English cricketer (New Zealand)

Europe (including Caribbean): Peter Willemse Dutch cricketer (Netherlands)

North America: Jeff Wilson Canadian cricketer

Who was in the New Zealand cricket team in 1993?

In the 1993-94 season, the New Zealand national cricket team toured Australia and played three Test matches against Australia. Australia won the series 2-0, with one tie. New Zealand won the toss and chose to bat. Test debuts were made by GD McGrath (AUS) and BA Pocock (NZ). Australia won the toss and chose to bat first. They made 462/8 declared. In their second match of the series, New Zealand chased down Australia's score with ten balls to spare to win by 1 run. This is now known as the "Black Caps' miracle". Captain Stephen Fleming was awarded man of the match.

New Zealand lost the first Test by an innings and 356 runs but came back to win the last two matches by an innings. This is the only time that has happened to Australia in Australia. Daniel Vettori was named player of the series for his outstanding performance with the ball. He finished with 14 wickets at an average of 28.57.

After the series, David Boon retired from international cricket. He had been playing for New Zealand since 1989, including the 1992 World Cup when he was part of the team that won its first ever game at Lord's Cricket Ground. He had scored more than 10,000 runs in tests and one-dayers. He was replaced by Andrew Jones as captain for the 1994-95 season.

In March 1995, Jones led New Zealand to their first Test victory over England at Auckland.

About Article Author

Calvin Kaliher

Calvin Kaliher is an avid sportsman. He loves to play sports and also enjoys watching them on TV. Calvin has been playing since he was a little boy, and he has never stopped since then. He plays many different sports such as football, tennis, and even golf!

Related posts