Who is the longest reigning tag team champion in WWE?

Who is the longest reigning tag team champion in WWE?

With the exception of the WWF Intercontinental Tag Team Championship, the following list lists the longest reigning champion for each tag team championship introduced and/or sponsored by WWE. The duo of Perro Aguayo and Gran Hamada won the first championship on January 7, 1991, however the title was abandoned later that year. Therefore, they are the only ones to hold the championship longer than a month.

The Eliminators held the WWE World Tag Team Championships longer than any other team, having defeated The Hart Foundation in a tournament final to become champions on March 29, 1992. They lost the titles to Shawn Michaels and Marty Jannetty at WrestleMania X8. The duo had already vacated the championships earlier that night when they attacked their opponents during their match with John Cena and Mike Knox.

Jinder Mahal is the current champion in WWE. He is signed to a long-term contract with the company and is not expected to change status anytime soon. His current championship run began on July 2, 2015, at the 2015 WWE Superstar Shakeup when he was drafted to the Raw brand.

He has been involved in multiple matches where the outcome was not decided until after the conclusion of both entrances' performances. In two of those matches, Mahal was awarded the victories due to stipulations placed before them.

Who has the most time as a champion in WWE?

Buddy Rogers was the inaugural winner, winning the title in 1963. Bruno Sammartino holds the record for the single longest reign at 2,803 days, but Sammartino also holds the record for the greatest combined reign at 4,040..

WWE ChampionshipDecember 10, 2016 – present

Who held the tag team championship the longest?

So far, 19 teams have won the coveted championship, but only one has kept it for the longest period of time. The Ascension (Konnor and Viktor) held the NXT Tag Team Championships for 343 days, a record that no other team has broken to this day.

The current champions are Konnor and Viktor, who defeated The War Gods in October 2016 to win their second title. Before they were named the Ascension, they went by the names of Killswitch and Ghost Machine.

Their previous title victory was on July 23, 2014. They had been serving their suspension since then because of violations of the wellness policy.

NXT currently holds four of the top five longest-reigning champion pairs in history. The Road Warriors, Shawn Michaels and Marty Jannetty, hold the third longest active streak at 654 days. The Hardy Boyz, Matt and Jeff, led the way with 890 days from 2000 to 2015. The Ascension is next with 903 days from 2014 to present day. And finally, the current NXT Tag Team Champions, Konnor and Viktor, have spent more than 1,000 days as champions so far.

Who is the longest-reigning Universal Champion in WWE?

Lesnar is the longest-reigning single and combined Universal Champion as of March 25, 2021. His first world title reign of 504 days is the sixth longest in WWE history and the longest since 1988. The second longest was John Cena's (336 days) third reign.

The Universal Championship is a professional wrestling championship created and promoted by World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE). It was introduced on January 22, 1992, at a New Year's Eve event held at Madison Square Garden in New York City. The inaugural champion was Hulk Hogan who defeated Mr. T at the event. He went on to defeat Paul Bearer for his title at WrestleMania VIII in Tampa, Florida. The current champion is Brock Lesnar, who won the match at WrestleMania 35 by submission to become the new champion.

Hulk Hogan is the only wrestler to win the Universal Championship twice. The championship can be defended anywhere in the world, but it is traditionally defended in WWE in front of live audiences. WWE has been the only company to ever hold the championship. In addition to being the longest-reigning champion, Brock Lesnar is the only person to have held the championship simultaneously with the NXT Championship.

He is also the youngest champion at just under 36 years old when he wins the title from Paul Bearer at WrestleMania VIII.

Who has won the most belts in WWE?

Brock Lesnar, the Beast Incarnate, has the longest championship reign for the Universal Championship, which was initially established in the summer of 2016. Lesnar's record spans three title reigns, the longest of which he held the belt for 504 days. He lost it to Daniel Bryan at WrestleMania 33.

The second longest-reigning Universal Champion is Seth Rollins, who held the title for 515 days between June 2015 and January 2017. He lost it to Brock Lesnar at The Beastmaster Braxton Burden Match on Janurary 27, 2017.

The third longest-reigning Universal Champion is Roman Reigns, who held the title for 535 days between June 2014 and January 2017. He lost it to Brock Lesnar at The Beastmaster Braxton Burden Match.

Braxton Burden was awarded the title after Brock Lesnar vacated it following his victory at The Beastmaster match against Seth Rollins. However, due to a contract clause, Lesnar will be able to re-claim his title if he wins another championship within 12 months. Since Braxton Burden never defended the title during his time with it, it can be assumed that he gave it up.

After Brock Lesnar vacated the title, Roman Reigns became the new champion.

About Article Author

Richard Borst

Richard Borst is an expert on sports and athletes. He loves to write about the athletes' lives off the field as well as their skills on it. Richard's favorite part of his job is meeting the players in person and getting to know them on a personal level, which allows him to write about them with accuracy and compassion.

Related posts