Who is the captain of the Australian women's cricket team?

Who is the captain of the Australian women's cricket team?

The results table is full up to and including the lone Test against England in July 2019. This is a list of Australian women's cricketers who have led the side in at least one women's one-day international. The table of results for the third One-Day International (ODI) versus England on January 9, 2011 is now complete. The leader of the team is Nancy Hooper with 124 runs followed by Ellyse Perry with 113 runs.

Who is the leader of the Indian cricket team?

Sir Don Bradman headed the Australian squad, while Lala Amarnath led the Indian team. The Indian cricket team debuted in Test cricket in 1932 and has since risen to be one of the top four test teams in the ICC rankings from 2005 to 2008. In 1983 and 2011, the squad won the ODI Cricket World Cup.

The current captain of India's cricket team is MS Dhoni. He was appointed as the leader of the team after Sourav Ganguly retired from all forms of cricket in 2013. Dhoni is a popular name in India with many people having the surname. He is also the most successful captain in ODI history with 100 wins out of 110 matches he has played as captain. In Test cricket, his record is even better with 11 victories out of 12 matches he has played as captain.

Dhoni took over the captaincy at a time when India were going through a poor run of form. Under his leadership, they turned around their international career by winning the 2009 World Twenty20 tournament in South Africa. This win helped India qualify for the 2010 50-over World Cup in New Zealand but they failed to live up to expectations during the tournament. In 2011, India won the inaugural ODI Championship in Australia to claim its first ever One Day International title. However, they were defeated by England in the final of the 2012 50-over World Cup to end their campaign on a low note.

Who was in the Australian squad for the 2013 Ashes?

With a push to point, English batsman Ian Bell achieves a century at Lord's. On April 24, 2013, Australia's team was named. The team featured players from Australia's whole tour of England and Scotland, including the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, the T20I series against England, and the ODI series against both England and Scotland.

Australia played five matches during the trip, with four being limited-overs games and one being a Test match. The Australians finished the series 3-2 after losing the first match of the series by an innings and 340 runs. Joe Burns was the top scorer for Australia with 378 runs across all formats of the game.

Ashes Series 2013/14: Australia toured England in 2013 to play four tests. It was Australia's first test series win in England since 2001. Nathan Lyon became the first offspinner to take 10 wickets in an innings when he did so on August 1 at Edgbaston. His teammate Josh Hazlewood also took ten wickets in an innings later in the same day. Steve Smith scored his third test century, this time in style with an unbeaten 400-run partnership with David Warner down the order. The pair put on 544 for the second wicket which is currently the highest individual score batting at number three in test cricket.

Australia won the series 3-1.

Ashes Tour 2017/18: Australia started their campaign with a loss at Trent Bridge.

Who was named the captain of the ICC Women’s T20 and ODI teams of the decade?

Virat Kohli has been elected captain of the ICC Test squad of the decade, while Meg Lanning has been named captain of the female ODI XI, which features two other Australians, Alyssa Healy and all-rounder Ellyse Perry. The three-time World Cup winner Kohli will lead the team in England during the 2019 women's Ashes.

Kohli has been voted as captain by his peers - the members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) - for the top position in both formats of the game. The 30-year-old Indian skipper led the Test side throughout the 2000s before relinquishing the role to Australia's Steve Smith in 2015. However, he returned to the helm last year after being appointed vice-captain of India's men's team. In doing so, he became only the second player after David Warner to be appointed captain of both the men's and women's teams.

Lanning has been chosen as leader of the ICC Women's ODI Team of the Decade after playing a key role in Australia's victories during the period. The 36-year-old has also played an important part in the development of young cricketers across the world with her leadership skills. She was appointed captain of the Australian women's cricket team in 2013 when their previous leader Nicole Bolton had to quit due to personal reasons.

Who was the first Australian cricket captain?

Gregory, David William,David William Gregory (15 April 1845–4 August 1919) was a cricketer from Australia. Gregory, a right-handed batter, was the first Australian national cricket captain, captaining the side in the first three recognized Test matches between England and Australia in March, April, and January 1877. He had played eight matches for New South Wales before he led the English team. After retiring from playing, he went on to become one of the most successful administrators in Australian cricket history.

He was born in Sydney, the son of an Irish immigrant police sergeant, and educated at Fort Street School. He made his first-class debut for New South Wales against England at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, on 3 January 1877. The match ended in a no-result due to rain, but Gregory scored 73 runs and took two wickets. This was followed by another no-result a week later, this time due to snow. He then led Australia into their first Test match, which was drawn 1-1. He died in Sydney, New South Wales, aged 80.

Gregory's brother, John, also played first-class cricket. Another brother, Charles, was a prominent clergyman in Australia.

Gregory was named as the captain of the Australian team that is believed to have been invited to tour England in 1877, but this appointment is disputed.

Who is the captain of the Afghanistan cricket team?

This is a list of all Afghan cricketers who have led their country in an official international match. The ICC Trophy, Under-19 games, and One-Day Internationals are all part of this. The tables are up to date as of January 20, 2021. This is a list of Afghan cricketers who have led the side in at least one Test match.

Afghanistan played its first Test match on August 8, 1998, against India at Kandahar Cricket Ground, Kandahar. They lost the match by an innings and 130 runs. Their only other Test match to date has been played between these two countries, which took place at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi in December 2018. In that match, India won by an innings and 135 runs.

Afghanistan's first One-Day International (ODI) was also played against India at Kandahar Cricket Ground, Kandahar on November 9, 1999. They lost the match by five wickets. Since then, they have taken part in nine more ODIs, with a record of three wins, four losses and one no result.

In terms of T20Is, Afghanistan's first match came against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Academy on October 11, 2000. They lost the match by seven runs. Since then, they have taken part in ten more matches, with a record of three wins, three losses and two no results.

About Article Author

Nicholas Ortiz

Nicholas Ortiz is a very talented and skilled individual. He has been playing sports his whole life and loves to have fun while playing. He also likes to coach others on how to play better or even how to coach!


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts