Who is still playing for the 2020 World Series?

Who is still playing for the 2020 World Series?

The 2020 World Series was Major League Baseball's championship series for the 2020 season. The 116th World Series was a best-of-seven series between the American League championTampa Bay Rays and the National League champion Los Angeles Dodgers. It began on October 23 in Tropicana Field and ended on November 4 in Dodger Stadium.

The winners of the World Series receive the American League or National League pennant, depending on which team wins their division. The champions then go on to play for the World Series title. In 2020, both the AL and NL champions went to the same franchise: the Tampa Bay Rays for the American League and the Los Angeles Dodgers for the National League.

The last time two teams from the same city won the World Series was 2008 when the Detroit Tigers beat the Phillies. There have been only three other times that has happened: in 1887 when the St. Louis Browns defeated the Baltimore Orioles; in 1935 when the Cardinals beat the Giants; and in 1987 when the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago Cubs.

There have been 32 different franchises that have made it to the World Series. The New York Yankees have most recently won the series in 2009 after defeating the Philadelphia Phillies. The Chicago White Sox are the only other current major league team that has reached the series. They too have won the series in 2005 after defeating Chris Woodward and the Houston Astros.

Is the World Series just for the US?

The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada, which has been fought since 1903 between the winners of the American League (AL) and the National League (NL). The AL winner gets to go up against the NL champion in the World Series.

The World Series is the only major league baseball game that carries international significance. If one team is from the American League and the other team is from the National League, as is usually the case, the reigning American League champion will be able to defend its title by going up against the national league champion. In addition, if a team wins the World Series, it receives the honor of being called the world champion.

However, if both teams are from the same league, there is no need for a championship round since the season ends with each team having the same record, so the team with the better regular season record wins the series. A best-of-seven series is played in each year; the 2013 series was the first time this number was not seven games since 1904. An example of this is when the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs in seven games to win their second World Series title in three years.

In Canada, the World Series is also known as the Fall Classic because of the autumnal nature of many games during this series.

Who are the teams in the 2016 World Series?

The 2016 World Series was the 112th edition of Major League Baseball's World Series, a best-of-seven playoff between the National League (NL) champion Chicago Cubs and the American League (AL) champion Cleveland Indians, the first postseason meeting between those organizations. The Cubs defeated the Indians 4–3 to win their first title since 1908.

Both the Cubs and Indians have multiple championships under their belts, but they are no longer considered elite franchises. The Cubs ended an 86-year championship drought and became a popular favorite to win the NL again following their victory over the San Francisco Giants in seven games. The Indians, on the other hand, haven't won the AL title since 1948 and came into the series with many doubting their ability to beat the Cubbies. However, with the help of two Game 7 victories, Cleveland advanced to its second World Series in three years.

Both the Cubs and Indians play in the NL Central, which has been dubbed by some as the "best division" in baseball. The Cardinals also make their presence known in this series by advancing to the NL Championship Series for the sixth time in eight seasons. St. Louis last lost the World Series it had reached in 2006 when it was swept by the Yankees of New York.

The Cubs finished the season with a record of 103-59 while the Indians were at 101-61.

About Article Author

Luis Hendricks

Luis Hendricks is a master of his domain. He knows about sports, he knows about the business side of sports and he knows about the law side of sports. His knowledge of these subjects makes him an asset to any organisation, be it big or small.

Related posts