Who are the winners of the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest?

Who are the winners of the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest?

The 2014 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest was won by Team East, which included dunkers Paul George, Terrence Ross, and John Wall. The team took first place after hitting a combined total of six dunks.

The 2012 Sprite Slam Dunk Contest was won by James White, who made all five of his attempts before losing in the final round to teammate Derrick Rose. White beat out players such as Chris Paul, Blake Griffin, and Andre Iguodala in what became known as one of the best dunk contests in NBA history.

James White is the only person to win the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest twice. He joined forces with teammate Derrick Rose in an attempt to break Michael Jordan's record of six wins at the time but was defeated by Paul George and Team East in 2014.

Here are the winners of the Sprite Slam Dunk Contest:

James White (2012, 2014)

Derrick Rose (2010)

Carmelo Anthony (2008)

Chase Budinger (2006)

Ben Gordon (2004)

Larry Hughes (2002)

Spud Webb (2000)

Who are the top 10 NBA slam dunk contest winners?

The 10 Most Outstanding NBA Slam Dunk Contest Winners, Ranked 2000, Vince Carter Spud Webb (1988)2 Michael Jordan (1986). Zachary LaVine (2015) Wilkins, Dominique (1985). 2009, Nate Robinson Brown, Dee, 1991 Richardson, Jason 2003, p. Griffin, Blake (2010) 10 Jr. Derrick Jones (2020)

In addition to being one of the best basketball players of all time, Michael Jordan was also one of the best dunkers of all time. He won the NBA Slam Dunk Contest two times when he was a member of the Chicago Bulls. Vince Carter also won the contest twice as a member of the Toronto Raptors. In total, there have been 10 men who have won the Slam Dunk Contest at least once in their career.

Nate Robinson and Jason Richardson were both members of the Los Angeles Clippers when they won the contest in 2003 and 2004, respectively. Robinson is now an assistant coach for the team while Richardson is an analyst for ESPN. There have been no Clipper players present at the event since Donald Sterling bought the team in 2014 but former players including Sam Cassell, Shaun Livingston, and Corey Maggette have participated in past contests.

Derrick Jones Jr. is the most recent winner of the Slam Dunk Contest. He won in 2020 after previously finishing second in 2019. Jones is a young player who currently plays forward for the Indiana Pacers.

Who are the only NBA players to win the Slam Dunk Contest?

Back-to-back NBA Slam Dunk Contest winners include Michael Jordan, Jason Richardson, Nate Robinson, and Zach LaVine. Only Michael Jordan, Isaiah Rider, Kobe Bryant, Brent Barry, and Dwight Howard have won an NBA title as well as a slam dunk championship.

Where was the greatest Dunk Contest of all time?

Whether you believe what transpired in the rowdy old barn on West Madison Street to be the greatest dunk contest of all time or not, it featured two Hall of Famers in their prime trading dunks with opposing styles. Chicago Stadium is no longer standing. The recollections are still there. And they will last forever.

Michael Jordan of the Chicago Bulls, Dominique Wilkins of the Atlanta Hawks, Clyde Drexler of the Portland Trailblazers, Otis Smith of the Golden State Warriors, Jerome Kersey of the Portland Trailblazers, Greg Anderson of the San Antonio Spurs, and Spud Webb of the Atlanta Hawks competed in the 1988 NBA Slam Dunk Contest.

Who are the dunk leaders in the NBA?

However, the competition for this season's dunk title is far from done. Giannis Antetokounmpo of Milwaukee has 262 dunks entering the night. Clint Capela of Houston was third on the season rankings with 205 points. Sign up for great deals on tickets, products, content, and other items. Who is the current leader of the NBA's dunk contest? According to basketball-reference.com, it's Toronto Raptors guard Kyle Lowry with 6 dunks this season. He earned $100,000 for winning last year's contest.

Lowry is one of only three players to win the event before they were even eligible to play in the league (the others being Charles Barkley and Dennis Scott). He also owns the record for most consecutive wins with four.

In second place is New York Knicks forward Kenyon Martin with 5 dunks this season. In third place is San Antonio Spurs center David Robinson with 4 finishes this season. The remaining players with at least 3 dunks this season are:

Milwaukee Bucks guard Giannis Antetokounmpo with 22 dunks - first in NBA history

Houston Rockets center Clint Capela with 20 dunks - second best in NBA history

Los Angeles Clippers forward Blake Griffin with 18 dunks - fourth best in NBA history

About Article Author

John Mincy

John Mincy has a passion for sports management. He has been involved with sports for as long as he can remember, starting out as a little league baseball manager for his local team. Eventually, John's love for sports management led him to become a professional sports agent.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts