Who are the AL MVPs for the 2010 season?

Who are the AL MVPs for the 2010 season?

AL MVP Voting Table Results Batting Stats OPS TEX 358.0 1.044 Rank Name Tm Vote Pts 2 Miguel Cabrera DET 262.0 1.042 Josh Hamilton 3 Robinson Cano NYY 229.0.914 Evan Longoria 4 Paul Goldschmidt ARI 224.0.912 David Ortiz 5 Adrian Gonzalez BOS 218.0.908 Justin Morneau 6 Mike Trout LAA 207.0.898 Buster Posey 7 Chipper Jones ATL 195.0.897 Jose Reyes

Cabrera is the favorite to win his third straight MVP award after leading the Tigers to the top seed in the AL with a league-best 2.4 WAR. The three-time winner has a strong case as the best hitter in baseball.

Cano, who won last year's MVP award, is having another standout season at the plate (229 hits) and in the field (nine defensive runs saved). The Yankees' Josh Hamilton is next on the list with two wins above replacement (WAR), while Toronto Blue Jays third baseman Evan Longoria comes in fourth with one win above replacement.

Boston Red Sox first baseman Adrian Gonzalez is fifth with one win above replacement while Minnesota Twins second baseman Mike Trout completes the top five with one win above replacement.

Who was the AL MVP of the 1990 season?

Table of AL MVP Voting Results of Voting First Place 1. Rickey Henderson: OAK 317.0 14.0 2 Cecil Fielder DET 286.0 10.0 3 Roger Clemens BOS 212.0 3.0 4 Mike Piazza NYY 198.0 0.0 5 Scottie Pippen CHI 193.0 0.0 6 Larry Walker DEN 182.0 0.0 7 Jeff Bagwell TB 170.5 -1.5 8 Tim Raines MIL 155.5 -10.5 9 Alfonso Soriano WASH 153.5 -7.5

Rickey Henderson led the American League in voting for the 1990 MVP Award. Henderson received 17 first-place votes and 317 points to win his second consecutive MVP Award. The Oakland Athletics outfielder was the only candidate to receive more than one vote from each league member on the ballot. Second place went to Cecil Fielder of the Detroit Tigers, who received 14 points. Third place went to Roger Clemens of the Boston Red Sox, who received 12 points. In all, five players finished with 100 or more points.

Henderson's outstanding season came during what has been called "the greatest offensive year in baseball history". He led the American League in batting average (.330), hits (206), runs scored (102), total bases (359), extra-base hits (97) and outfield assists (38).

Who are the top 10 MVP winners in MLB history?

Barry Bonds: 2001–2004 (NL) 1992-1993 Bonds (NL) Mike Schmidt, 1980-1981 (NL) 5 Joe Morgan (1975-1976) Roger Maris, 1960-1961 (AL) Ernie Banks, No. 7: 1956-1957 (AL) Yogi Berra (1954-1955) Hal Newhouser, 1944-1945 (AL) Eddie Murray (No. 2): 1983-1984 (NL)

Awarded to baseball's best player as determined by his peers, the National League MVP honors have been given out every year from 1931 to 2004 except for 1941 and 1945 due to World War II. The award has been given to at least one player from each team. In all, there have been 10 players who have won the award more than once their career total of 13 seasons. Barry Bonds is the only player to win the award while playing for another league; he did so twice (2001, 2003).

The American League has also had its share of great players, with many having multiple awards bestowed upon them. Seven different players have won the AL MVP award more than once their career total of 11 seasons.

Who won MVP in baseball in 2021?

Update: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. Vladimir Guerrero Jr. is your 2021 All-Star Game MVP! The AL won the game 5-2 over the NL courtesy to Vlad Jr., who drove in two of the five runs, including a massive 468-foot home bomb in the third inning. He became the first player born after 1995 to win the award.

Vlad Jr.'s father, former MLB star Vladimir Guerrero, has one word for his son's victory: "Amazing." He went on to say that even though he's been playing professional baseball for almost 10 years now, it feels like yesterday that he made his debut with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

Guerrero Jr. also had some words for his dad before the game starting saying how much he respects him as a player and person which made everyone around the family room at home cry hard tears of joy. He continued by saying that although he's always wanted to be just like him, he knows that he can't hit like his dad so he's going to have to work hard to make himself worthy of being named MVP.

Vladimir Guerrero was unanimously chosen by both managers as their starter at first base for the 2021 All-Star Game which will be held in Toronto. The fans voted Guerrero as their winner by a wide margin over second baseman Josh Donaldson who finished with more than 50 percent of the vote.

Who was the MVP of the World Series in 2009?

Matsui was the New York Yankees' World Series MVP in 2009. The New York Yankees won the World Series in 2009, and Hideki Matsui's outstanding numbers earned him the MVP award. Hideki Matsui, dubbed "Statsui" in the media, is the first Japanese-born player to win the World Series MVP trophy for Most Valuable Player. In seven games played (all but last game of the Series), he hit.462 with six RBIs and three home runs. He became just the second Yankee after Joe DiMaggio with a.400 batting average during the regular season. The other one was Roger Maris in 1961.

Matsui joined the Yankees in January 2008 after nine seasons with the Los Angeles Dodgers. He was originally drafted by the Chicago Cubs in 1989, but didn't sign until the following year when the Cubs traded his draft rights to the Yankees. Matsui has been one of baseball's most popular players since breaking into the major leagues in 1996. He is known for his aggressive approach at the plate and has been accused of cockiness and arrogance by opponents and reporters over the years. However, these accusations have not stopped him from being one of the best hitters of his generation.

Matsui has also been involved in several controversies throughout his career. In 2001, while with the yankees, he was accused of sexual harassment by an ex-manager, but was never charged with a crime and there were no allegations of physical violence.

Who was the MVP of the 1973 ALCS?

The Oakland A's won the World Series by defeating the Baltimore Orioles in the 1973 American League Championship Series. The reigning champion A's still had a strong lineup led by a healthy Reggie Jackson (.293, 32 HR, 117 RBI, 22 stolen bases), who was elected league MVP in 1973.

Reggie Jackson, a Hall of Famer, was named World Series MVP in 1973 and 1977. Jackson earned the nickname "Mr. October" after hitting five home runs in the 1977 World Series.

About Article Author

Daniel Moran

Daniel Moran is a sports enthusiast and journalist. He loves to write about the latest trends in sports, and provides accurate information for sports fans. Moran's interests include golf, tennis, and cycling.

Related posts