Who are the six African Champions League winners?

Who are the six African Champions League winners?

Six Africans have won the UEFA Champions League. Samuel Eto'o, No. 1 (Barcelona 2006, 2009; Inter Milan 2010) Drogba, Didier (Chelsea 2012) Geremi Njitap No. 3 (Real Madrid 2000, 2002) Benni McCarthy 4 (Porto 2004) Yaya Toure 5 (Barcelona, 2009, 2011) Sulley Muntari No. 6 (Inter Milan 2010) More recently, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Alexandre Lacazette have been nominated as candidates for the title.

Only three of these players still play in Africa: Drogba, Eto'o, and Geremi. Two of them, Drogba and Eto'o, have been voted the Best African Player ever. The third one, Geremi, is widely regarded as the best Cameroonian player of all time. He was called up by his country to play in the 2014 World Cup but he missed out through injury.

The other three champions played in Europe before moving to Africa: Real Madrid hired McCarthy from Chelsea as a replacement for Luís Figo, while Porto hired Benni McCarthy's brother, Luca, and Leonardo Jardim from Benfica to replace Hernán Crespo. In 2010, Inter Milan hired Geremi after they lost out on Falcao to Monaco. However, it took him only four months to prove himself at the Italian club and he went on to win several trophies with them. In January 2016, he moved back to Africa to join Al-Ahly in Egypt.

Who are the best basketball players in Africa?

The Top 50 African Players of All Time 1. 1. Samuel Eto'o, Jr., 2. George Weah, Jr. Drogba, Didier Roger Milla 4th, Hossam Hassan 5th, Essam El-Hadary 6th Kanu 7 9 Mohamed Aboutrika 8 Abedi Pele 11 Wael Gomaa 12 Ahmed Khalil 13 Salim Kerkar 14 Mahmoud Khayat 15 Alaa Abdelghani 16 Ali Gabr 17 Ahmad Harun 18 Tarik Abou Sakchina 19 Ismael Bangura 20 Sulaiman Abu Nuhan 21 Mahrous Habeeb 22 Hussein Abdeen 23 Ibrahim Sheikholesaly 24 Ahmed Hegazi 25 Adnan Gabelovic 26 Saad Eddin Ibrahim 27 Khalid Boutaiba 28 Mustafa Badredine Hafez 29 Walid Jumblatt 30 Saddek Kahlayei 31 Chico Anjelo 32 Hassan Shehata 33 Ahmed Fouly 34 Karim Abdallah 35 Ahmed Radwan 36 Ahmed Ramadan 37 Ahmed Louida 38 Ahmed Salem 39 Mohamed Barakat 40 Mohamed Samir 41 Houssam Alaeddin 42 Reda Yassine 43 Ammar Abdulhamid 44 Mido Madjepasse 45 Soufian Benali 46 Riadh Soudani 47 Ali Bacherri 48 Amar Sylla 49 Ousmane Diawara 50 Papa Massata Diack.

Samuel Eto'o has been called "Africa's Best Forward" and "Africa's Most Talented Player".

Who is the greatest African of all time?

The five greatest African players of all time

  • Th place – Jay-Jay Okocha. Country: Nigeria. Period: 1990-2008.
  • Th place – Roger Milla. Country: Cameroon. Period: 1970-1996.
  • Rd place – Samuel Eto’o. Country: Cameroon. Period: 1997-2019.
  • Nd place – Abedi Pele. Country: Ghana. Period: 1980-2000.
  • St place – George Weah. Country: Liberia. Period: 1985-2003.

Who are the seven players who have won the Premier League?

Seven players who have won the Premier League with various teams Henning Berg is number one. Nicolas Anelka is ranked second. Ashley Cole is number three. Gael Clichy is number four. Kolo Toure No. 5 Carlos Tevez is ranked sixth. Robert Huth's number seven.

Henning Berg won the title with Os Lagos in 1971 and 1972. He was 29 years old when he made his debut for the club. He remained with them for another seven seasons, scoring 86 goals in 189 games. He then moved to Denmark where he played for Brøndby IF for two more seasons before ending his career in Sweden with Örgryte IS. He scored 58 goals in 116 games during that time.

Anelka won the title with Arsenal in 2004. The French striker was 31 years old when he retired from football due to a knee injury. He later on returned to action but never reached the same level as before. Anelka ended up playing only five more seasons in England after winning the title with Arsenal. He scored 40 goals in 92 appearances for the Gunners.

Cole won the title with Chelsea in 2005. The English defender was 30 years old when he retired due to a thigh injury. He later on returned to action but never regained all of his previous form. Cole ended up playing six more seasons in England after winning the title with Chelsea. He made 289 appearances for the Blues and scored 16 goals.

Who are the African players in the Champions League?

The Liverpool duo of Egypt's Mohammed Salah and Senegal's Sadio Mane, as well as youngsters Joel Matip of Cameroon and Liverpool and Achraf Hakimi of Morocco and Real Madrid, have an opportunity to join the illustrious list of African players who have won the European Cup when Liverpool face Real Madrid in the 2018 European Cup final today in Kiev.

Other Africans who have played important roles for their countries include Ghana's David Platt and Peter Odemwingie, and Nigeria's Sunday Olisegun and Joseph Egbewoh.

Platt has been called Africa's greatest-ever player and one of the world's best midfielders of all time, while Odemwingie is known for his aggressive playing style and ability to score goals from outside the box. Olisegun was the first African player to manage a club in England when he took over at Leeds United in 1990 while Egbewoh managed Chelsea between 1996 and 2000. He is also the only African manager to win the English Premier League.

There have been more than 50 African players in the Premier League since it started in 1992. Currently, there are about 15-20 players on each team with two or three of them being born in Africa. There has never been an African player who has played for a major European club before Liverpool's Mohamed Salah this season. He is the first player to appear in a UEFA Champions League match as a starter and score in each half.

Who are the six players who have won the UEFA Champions League?

The table below lists the only six players who have won all UEFA and FIFA-recognized international events (chronological order). The UEFA Champions League (UCL), UEFA Cup Winners' Cup (CWC), UEFA Europa League (UEL), UEFA Intertoto Cup (UIC), UEFA Super Cup (USC), and Intercontinental Cup (IC) are all part of the package. Football at the Olympic Games is a separate event with its own set of rules but it is not recognized by any international governing body.

By winning most major European club tournaments, each of which has a different format, the list's six winners qualify to represent Europe in the annual FIFA Club World Cup, which was established in 2009 as one of the two new additions to the post-2010 FIFA World Club Championship calendar. The other new event is the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which will be played every four years from 2013 onwards.

The clubs are Olympique Lyonnais, AS Monaco, FC Barcelona, Real Madrid CF, Bayern Munich and Chelsea F.C..

Who is the highest-scoring African in Premier League history?

Shearer, Alan Didier Drogba is the first African player to have scored 100 Premier League goals...

PlayerAlan Shearer
Club(s) (goals/apps)Blackburn Rovers (112/138) Newcastle United (148/303)

About Article Author

Paul Vien

Paul Vien is a man of many passions, but his true love is sports. He loves reading about sports, he loves watching it on television, and he loves playing them on the field. He's been playing organized sports all his life, and he loves it even more now that he's an adult. Paul loves the competitiveness of it all, but he also enjoys the camaraderie that comes with playing with your friends on the same team.

Related posts