Which teams will play in Super Bowl 2020?

Which teams will play in Super Bowl 2020?

In Super Bowl LV, the National Football Conference champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the American Football Conference champion Kansas City Chiefs. The game was played at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.

Tampa Bay earned their spot in the game by defeating the New Orleans Saints 34-30 in the NFC Championship Game. This was the first postseason game for both teams. They met during the 2016 season when New Orleans won 27-20 at home field. In that game, Drew Brees led his team to a winning touchdown with less than a minute left on the clock. He was 33 years old then and is still playing very well today. But his age could be a problem for him when trying to win another championship.

Tampa Bay also had home field advantage throughout the entire playoffs because they were the higher-seeded team. They beat Carolina, New Orleans, and now Kansas City to reach the Super Bowl.

They are the second undefeated team after the 1972 Miami Dolphins but that doesn't mean much since the rules were different back then. Today, an NFL team can win just 12 games under Bill Belichick and Tom Brady yet still have a chance to go all the way if someone else loses somewhere along the road.

Which team scored first in the 2021 Super Bowl?

Newcomers scored all 31 Buccaneers points in Super Bowl LV. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers topped the NFL globe on Sunday, defeating the Kansas City Chiefs 31-9 in Super Bowl LV. This is the first time that the Buccaneers have appeared in and won the Big Game.

Tampa Bay scored first when quarterback Jameis Winston found wide receiver Mike Evans for a touchdown on their opening drive of the game. The score was set up when Winston found running back Ronald Jones II open downfield on a sweep right before the end of regulation.

A field goal by kicker Matt Gay in the second quarter was the only score of the first half. In the third quarter, Winston found Evans again for another touchdown this time from 29 yards out. That was enough to give the Bucs a 31-9 lead going into the fourth quarter.

Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes IV was picked off by cornerback Brent Grimes during a Tampa Bay possession late in the third quarter. However, he was called for offensive holding on the next play, giving the Bucs new life with a first-and-goal at the 4-yard line. They would go on to score a touchdown on a one-yard run by Winston less than three minutes later.

Who made the playoffs in 2020?

The 2020 NFL playoffs were the season's postseason tournament. It began on January 9, 2021 and ended on February 7, 2021, when the Tampa Bay Buccaneers defeated the Kansas City Chiefs in Super Bowl LV at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. The New England Patriots became the first team to win three consecutive titles after defeating the Philadelphia Eagles 26–20 in the game for the NFL Championship.

All playoff participants are listed below with their current records. Teams that miss the playoffs will be listed as such next year until the season is completed. A new system was used this year where the top five ranked teams by point differential make the playoffs; if more than five teams have identical records, then the conference champions will advance based on how many games they have won this season. If still tied, it will be determined by a tiebreaker process (see notes below).

Teams are awarded one post-season spot for being the champion of their division. If there is a wild card team from each conference, those two teams will also make the playoffs. In the previous seven seasons, the Wild Card round consisted only of the two highest-ranked wild cards in their respective conferences. This year, the league office announced that beginning in 2021, both wild cards will be required to play one another during the first week of the playoffs.

Who is the NFC Super Bowl 20 champion?

In the American Football Conference (AFC) championship game, the Kansas City Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers, 31-20. On February 2, 2020, the game was held at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida. The Chiefs won their third Super Bowl title with a score of 30-27.

In the National Football League (NFL) championship game, the New England Patriots defeated the Philadelphia Eagles, 28-22. This was the fifth Super Bowl victory for the Patriots, and it also marked their second consecutive year winning the conference title after losing the previous three titles.

Both teams were undefeated during the regular season, with the Chiefs having a perfect 12-0 record and the Patriots 11-1. The last time two undefeated teams met in the NFL Championship Game was 1998 when the Denver Broncos defeated the Atlanta Falcons 34-32.

This was also the first Super Bowl appearance for both teams. The Patriots made their first ever playoff appearance after finishing first in the AFC East with a 10-4 record. They defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers in the playoffs semifinal game 24-16 at Gillette Stadium. The Chiefs advanced to the NFL Championship by defeating the Jacksonville Jaguars 42-10 in their first postseason game at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. This was also quarterback Patrick Mahomes' first career playoff win.

How is the away team determined in the Super Bowl?

In Super Bowl 55, the Kansas City Chiefs and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers will square off, and as with other NFL games, one club will be designated "home," while the other will be labeled "away." This year, though, the Buccaneers will be the first team to play in a Super Bowl at their home stadium. The Chiefs will be making their third trip to Miami as part of the Super Bowl.

Since the Super Bowl was created in 1972, there have been 10 different teams that have won the game. The Pittsburgh Steelers have the most titles with four, followed by the Chicago Bears and New England Patriots with two each. The Seattle Seahawks and Denver Broncos are the only other franchises to have won the title.

Before the Super Bowl can be played, one team has to win its conference championship game and then advance to face the winner of the other conference's title game. This year, those games will be held on January 15th at 1:00 PM ET on NBC. If your favorite team is not playing in the Super Bowl, you can still watch it through the livestream available online. However, the game itself will not be available in many countries due to licensing issues with broadcasting rights holder CBS Sports Network.

The away team usually wins more games than they lose during the regular season, so they are usually given the advantage when it comes to selection for the Super Bowl. But since 1992, every single game has ended in a victory for the home team.

About Article Author

George Bray

George Bray is a man of many talents. He's a good golfer, boxer, and wrestler. But George's true passion is sports management. He loves working with other people to bring their sports dreams to life.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts