When was the last Cricket World Cup held in Bangladesh?

When was the last Cricket World Cup held in Bangladesh?

Bangladesh's finest cricketing triumph was winning the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup, which was held in South Africa in 2020. Cricket has been played in India since the 18th century, and it has continued to be played in Pakistan and Bangladesh after they gained political independence. The first World Cup was held in England in 1975.

They have never appeared in the main event of the world cup but have won the ICC Cup a number of times. The ICC Cup is an annual international cricket tournament contested by the top national teams in the world. It is currently known as the ICC World Cup Qualifier. Bangladesh first entered the qualifying process for the 2015 World Cup in Hong Kong, where they finished sixth out of seven teams. Two years later, they returned to the tournament in Nepal where they again finished sixth out of seven teams.

In August 2017, Bangladesh hosted the two-stage ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier tournament. In the first stage, four countries - Bangladesh, Ireland, Scotland and Afghanistan - competed in Division 1 of the tournament from September to November. In the second stage, three other countries - Botswana, Namibia and Zimbabwe - took part in Division 2 from February to April 2018. All matches were played in Bangladesh except one that was held in India. Bangladesh earned their spot at the 2019 World Cup by finishing first in Division 1 of the tournament. They also qualified for the next year's World Cup by finishing first in Division 2.

When did Bangladesh win the World Cup of Under-19 Cricket?

Bangladesh's most notable achievement in the Under-19 World Cup was capturing the championship in 2020, defeating India in the final. Bangladesh also won the plate, which is a competition for teams who did not get through the first round of the Under-19 World Cup qualification. The plate consists of a group stage followed by a knockout stage similar to that of the main cup. Bangladesh started their Under-19 career in 2001 and have never been defeated in an under-19 match. They are undefeated in 32 matches across two categories (Under-19s and Youth).

Here are all the countries that have won the Under-19 World Cup: England, Australia, India, South Africa, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. England is the most successful country with five titles. The other four nations have only one title each.

India dominated the early years of the tournament by winning it in 2001, 2003, 2005, and 2007. However, since then they have never reached the finals. The Indian team's poor performance in the tournament has often caused controversies and brought forth debates about the security of its players. In 2011, after losing all their matches except for one against Bangladesh, the Indian team flew back home without playing the final match. The only reason they played this single match was because one of their players was injured. He later died due to his injuries.

When did cricket become a popular sport in Bangladesh?

Cricket gained popularity when the Bangladesh national cricket team won the ICCP Trophy in 1997, qualifying them for the 1999 Cricket World Cup, which was largely contested in England. Bangladesh, together with Sri Lanka and India, co-hosted the Cricket World Cup in 2011. In 2014, they again played host to the World Cup, this time with limited success.

Bangladesh's first international tournament was the Independence Cup, which was held in 1947. The country became a founding member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 1948. However, they withdrew from the organization in 1950 due to financial difficulties. They returned to the ICC in 1971 and have been active members ever since. Bangladesh has never qualified for the finals of any of the major cricket tournaments; however, they do play in several domestic competitions throughout the year.

As far as awards go, Bangladesh has won one ICC trophy and four BCCI trophies (three consecutive from 2000 to 2002 and another consecutive one in 2003). They also won the Pentangular Trophy in 2008.

The team is owned by the Government of Bangladesh who appoint a chairman and two directors to manage the affairs of the board. There are three divisions in Bangladeshi cricket: Premier League, National League, and Limited Over League. Top teams from each division compete in a series of one-day matches called "Actions" or "Games" during the season.

Has Bangladesh beaten India in cricket?

Bangladesh won the inaugural multi-team international competition in 2019 when they defeated West Indies in the final at Dublin's Malahide Cricket Club Ground. It was the first time Bangladesh has won a final match in any version of the game....


How many ODI matches has Bangladesh won?

Team victories, defeats, draws, and ties Bangladesh have played 387 One-Day International (ODI) matches as of July 18, 2021, with 135 victories, 245 losses, and 7 no results for an overall winning percentage of 35.52. They have won more ODIs than they have lost, which is the same number of matches that they have drawn.

After playing four matches in the 1972 Cricket World Cup, Bangladesh did not appear again until 2004, when they were invited to take part in the 2005 ICC Cricket World Cup. Since then, they have become a regular fixture in the one-day international (ODI) arena, having never been defeated by India. As of July 18, 2021, Bangladesh has a record of 135 wins, 245 losses, and 7 no results from 387 matches they have played.

They are one of five countries (along with Australia, England, India, and Pakistan) who have never been defeated in ODI cricket. Only two other teams have won at least 100 matches while being undefeated: Australia and South Africa.

In fact, Bangladesh is the only country who has won ODI matches without losing even one match. They have also scored more than 500 runs in an innings on eight occasions, most recently in their last match against India on January 10, 2020.

Has Bangladesh won any cricket world cups?

Bangladesh competed in the ICC Trophy in 1979, 1982, 1986, 1990, and 1994, and won the trophy in 1997, qualifying for the 1999 World Cup. Bangladesh competed in their first World Cup in England in 1999, winning its opening match against Scotland. However, they were defeated by India in the next round after conceding the first tiebreaker game.

Since then, Bangladesh has never progressed further than the quarter-finals of the World Cups. They finished fourth in 2003, and again in 2007. In 1971, when India and Pakistan went into exile, playing as East and West Pakistan respectively, Bangladesh came into existence as a separate country. It joined the ICC in 1969.

As far as international cricket is concerned, Bangladesh's record is rather poor. They have never even reached the final of an ICC event. However, it must be noted that the number of events played at an international level increases over time, so it is possible that Bangladesh could reach the final stage of more recent tournaments.

In local tournaments, on the other hand, Bangladesh has done quite well. They have won the Cricket World Cup Qualifier twice - in 2009 and 2013 - and also the ACC Trophy in 2004.

So overall, Bangladesh has never been very successful at an international level but has done well in local tournaments.

About Article Author

Stephen Cliff

Stephen Cliff is an avid sports fan and player. He loves reading about sports history as well as writing about them himself. Stephen has been playing tennis since high school and he also enjoys soccer, basketball, and volleyball.

Related posts