When did the LSU and Alabama football rivalry start?

When did the LSU and Alabama football rivalry start?

Both colleges are original members of the Southeastern Organization (SEC), and their athletic teams have competed in the West Division of the SEC since the conference was divided into two divisions in 1992. The series began in 1895, with LSU winning 12-6 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. It was not until many years later that Alabama first defeated LSU, by a score of 3-0 in 1918.

There has been no shortage of excitement between these two schools, as they have remained among the top 10 college football programs throughout their history. The winner of this game goes to the SEC Championship Game each year, and has captured the title twice: 2006 vs. Ohio State in Atlanta, Georgia, and 2011 vs. Wisconsin in New Orleans, Louisiana.

These two teams have already met on the field seven times, with LSU holding a 5-1 record against Alabama. The next meeting will be on November 15th in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. The winner of this game will go to the BCS National Championship Game.

College football's biggest day is just around the corner! Get ready for LSU vs. Alabama - the most exciting game of the week!

What is unique about LSU?

LSU is one of the few colleges in the country that offers a French minor with a focus on Cajun French. LSU won their 10th SEC Football Championship on December 1, 2007, when it defeated Tennessee, 21-14, in Atlanta. Since 2000, the Tigers have won three SEC championships, the most of any school in the league.

LSU has more National Merit Commended Students than any other college or university in America. The highly selective Honor College requires each student to earn at least a 3.50 GPA in order to remain eligible for a diploma. In addition, every year around 20 percent of the class is offered full scholarships. There are also need-based grants available for students who qualify.

In addition to its major academic programs, LSU includes 22 interdisciplinary research centers and institutes. These include the Center for American Indian Studies, the Children's Health Research Institute, and the Hurricane Center. The Tiger Athletic Foundation funds many athletic programs at LSU. It also manages an annual football game between the LSU Tigers and the University of Alabama Crimson Tide. The game is called the Iron Bowl and it is one of the most important sports events in Louisiana and Alabama. It has been called "the world's biggest sporting event outside of the Olympics".

The LSU campus is large, with several different neighborhoods including Sugar Hill, Old LSU Campus, Terrytown, and West Lake Landings.

Where are the Auburn and LSU football games played?

LSU holds a 31-23-1 advantage in the series. LSU has a 17-5-1 record in games played in Baton Rouge and a 2-0 record in games played in Montgomery, Alabama. Auburn has a 13-6 record at Jordan-Hare Stadium, a 3-2 record in Birmingham, and a 3-2 record in Mobile, Alabama (2-0). Auburn and LSU were assigned to the SEC's West Division when the league expanded. The Tigers play in the Eastern Time Zone while the Plainsmen are in the Central Time Zone.

The two teams have met every year since 1896 with the exception of 1917 and 1918 during World War I. They have not met since April 4, 1976 in Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. LSU won that game 27-7.

Auburn and LSU have been regular season opponents since the 1896 season. The Tigers lead the all-time series 57-36-3.

There have been seven Heisman Trophy winners from the LSU football team. Three of them have gone straight from college to the NFL: Billy Cannon in 1967, Gino Marchetti in 1968 and Mike Singletary in 1985. The other four players honored with the award after playing for LSU: Rohan "Boobie" Walker in 1922, Elroy "Crazy E" Caldwell in 1926, Jim Hardy in 1947 and Fred Biletnikoff in 1960. Walker and Caldwell played for LSU before the formation of the Southeastern Conference; they were members of the original six teams that began play in 1932.

What state is the LSU football team?

The LSU Tigers football team participates in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, representing Louisiana State University in the Southeastern Conference's Western Division (SEC). LSU's home games are held at Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. The team's record-breaking quarterback, Joe Burrow, is expected to be a top pick in this year's NFL draft.

LSU has won more than 300 games over the past 70 years. The Tigers have been ranked No. 1 in the AP poll for nine seasons, from 1958 to '65 and again in 2019. LSU has had at least one player selected in the Pro Bowl after each of its first seven seasons of NCAA divisional play. Three players earned first-team honors in 2018: defensive ends Marcus Davenport and Tyrell Crosby and running back Derrius Guice.

LSU competes in the most competitive college football conference in the country. The Tigers play 14 regular-season games, which include three SEC opponents (Alabama, Florida, and Georgia). They also play non-conference games against Arkansas, Texas A&M, and Wisconsin.

Since their first season in 1872, all but two of LSU's games have been played during November and December; the only exceptions were in 1943 when World War II prevented teams from traveling to games, and in 1995 when LSU canceled its season due to concerns about hurricanes Alton Harris Jr.

About Article Author

Brian Brady

Brian Brady is a professional sports agent. He's got his helmet on, and he's ready to play. He's been an agent for over 10 years and his favorite thing to do is negotiate contracts for professional athletes. He loves his job because every day is different, and you never know what kind of athlete you're going to be dealing with that day.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts