When did Philadelphia win the World Series?

When did Philadelphia win the World Series?

19804-2-Kansas City Royals Philadelphia Phillies/World Series titles.

Philadelphia won its second World Series title in three years by defeating the reigning champion Kansas City Royals. The Phillies were led by their star third baseman, Mike Schmidt, who had been injured for most of the previous season but returned in time to hit.444 with two doubles, a triple, and two homers during the series. First-base coach Eddie Sawyer was named the MVP of the Series after hitting.500 with four hits in 16 at-bats. Left fielder Wayne Granger also received attention for his outstanding play; he had six RBIs during the series and scored 10 runs.

How did Philadelphia win the World Series?

The Phillies used eight different pitchers who all earned at least one victory during the Series. Their pitching staff had a 3.12 ERA during the playoffs. Left-hander John Candelaria was the winner of the Series for the Phillies. He went 2-0 with a 0.93 ERA and five saves in seven opportunities. Candelaria struck out 21 batters while walking only four in 19 innings pitched.

In the eighth inning of Game 7, the Phillies trailed 1-0.

When did the Baltimore Orioles win the World Series?

Philadelphia Phillies (1983-4-1) 19704-0-Cincinnati Reds, 19664-0-Los Angeles Dodgers at Baltimore Orioles/World Series titles

The Baltimore Orioles are a major league baseball club headquartered in Baltimore, Maryland. The Orioles won the World Series three times while playing in the American League (AL): in 1966, 1970, and 1983.

When did Kansas City win the World Series?

20154-1-New York Mets/World Series titles 19854-3-St. Louis Cardinals vs. Kansas City Royals/World Series championships

The Kansas City Royals are a major league baseball club headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. The Royals have four American League (AL) pennants and two World Series victories to their credit (1985 and 2015).

What did the Philadelphia Phillies win in 1993?

The 1993 Philadelphia Phillies season was the 111th in the franchise's existence. The squad won the National League East and defeated the Atlanta Braves in six games in the 1993 National League Championship Series before falling to the Toronto Blue Jays in the World Series. This section is currently empty. You can help by adding content.

When did Detroit win the World Series?

San Diego Padres (1984-4-1) St. Louis Cardinals, 4-3, 1968 19454-3-Chicago Cubs19354-2-Chicago Cubs/World Series titles

The Detroit Tigers are a professional baseball club in the American League headquartered in Detroit (AL). The Tigers have four World Series championships (1935, 1945, 1968, and 1984), as well as 11 AL pennants.

How many times did the Phillies go to the World Series?

The Phillies are the oldest continuously operating, single-name, single-city club in American professional sports, having won seven NL pennants and two World Series victories (1980 and 2008). The Phils have also played in five other World Series, all lost. Their 1980 championship was their first major league title since 1960; they had last been crowned national champions in that same year of origin.

The Phillies were founded on June 13, 1883, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, as the Baltimore Orioles. They changed their name to the Pittsburgh Pirates after only one season because of concerns about competing with the National League's Chicago Pirates. The Pirates moved to Philadelphia in 1884 and became an immediate success, winning 93 games in their inaugural season. The team went on to win four more NL titles before moving to South Philly in 1890. They finished last three seasons there before returning to North Philly in 1896. The team has never left Philadelphia for any longer than one season.

The Phillies have played at Roosevelt Stadium/Veteran's Park in Philadephia since their return in 1996. The park is known for its small ballpark factor, with a maximum capacity of 40,000. The team has won more than 600 regular season games during their existence, most recently in 2016 when they beat the Chicago Cubs 4-3 in 11 innings to claim their seventh straight victory.

How many World Series championships do the Philadelphia Phillies have?

Two World Series championships The Phillies are the oldest continuously operating, single-name, single-city club in American professional sports, having won seven NL pennants and two World Series victories (1980 and 2008).

The team was founded as the Philadelphia Quakers in 1883 by John Rogers who purchased the franchise after its previous owner, William Penn, died. The team changed its name to the Phillies a year later when it became clear that they would not be joining the new American League immediately but instead would be competing with other teams for titles over several years. The modern version of the Phillies debuted in 1940 and have not missed the postseason since then. They currently play in Citizens Bank Park in Philadelphia's Center City district.

The Phillies have been winners of at least one championship prize per season since their first season and today represent one of the eight original National League clubs. Their 1980 world title was the first for the city and the first for any baseball team from the Pennsylvania region.

The Phillies have played in more than their share of big games including 20 World Series matchups and have had many memorable moments during their history.

About Article Author

John Stone

John Stone is a sport enthusiast. He loves to play and watch sports. He has a degree in sports management from California Polytechnic State University which he got in 2014. He is currently working as a sports consultant for the largest sportswear company in America.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts