What was the result of the 1999 ICC World Cup?

What was the result of the 1999 ICC World Cup?

In 1999, England and Ireland hosted the seventh ICC Cricket World Cup. From May 14 to June 20, 1999, 12 teams competed in 42 matches. India, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya are in Group A. Group B consists of Australia, Pakistan, the West Indies, New Zealand, Scotland, and Bangladesh. Australia won the ICC World Cup in 1999. Friday, 14th. May will be. The first day of the tournament with the groups being announced.

England and Ireland played very well in this world cup and finished at the top of their group. This is a huge achievement because both countries don't have much experience of playing cricket outside of Europe! They were joined by South Africa who also qualified from their group. The three countries will now play-offs to determine which two nations will join India at the finals. These play-offs will be held over two days in July 1999. India won the final match by eight wickets to claim their second world cup title. Andrew Symonds scored an unbeaten century to help his team win the game.

This world cup was unique because it had two separate tournaments in one year. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2001 will be held in Australia and New Zealand from January 23 to February 9, 2001. The other tournament is the ICC Champions Trophy which takes place every four years between the World Cups. India won the last edition in 1997 in Sri Lanka.

What happened in the 1999 World Cup?

Australia won the 1999 Cricket World Cup after defeating Pakistan by 8 wickets in the final at Lord's Cricket Ground in London.

Logo of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999
Dates14 May – 20 June
Player of the seriesLance Klusener
Most runsRahul Dravid (461)

Who was the first World Cup winner in 1999?

Cricket World Cup in Australia in 1999

Logo of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999
Dates14 May – 20 June
ChampionsAustralia (2nd title)

Where was the 5th ICC World Cup held?

In 1992, Australia and New Zealand hosted the fifth ICC Cricket World Cup. From February 22 to March 25, 1992, nine teams competed in 39 matches. The Benson & Hedges World Cup 1992 is another name for it. Pakistan won the Benson and Hedges World Cup in 1991/92. Saturday's first match pits New Zealand against Australia. The final will be on Sunday, March 25 at 11:30 a.m. AEDT.

The World Cup has been played every two years since its inception in 1975. It is currently held by England and Wales. The next World Cup will be held in 2020 in Australia and New Zealand.

Who was the winner of the 1999 Cricket World Cup?

The Lankans, led by Arjuna Ranatunga, played aggressive cricket and won all of their matches by large scores. They were given a semi-final spot in Kolkata, where the fans became enraged as India was on the verge of losing. The World Cup in 1999 was the first of Australia's hat trick of World Cup victories.

The West Indies won the first two championships in 1975 and 1979. Six different teams have won the world cup (ODI) out of the 12 that have been staged so far. England has lost three finals, while Australia, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand have each lost twice. India, Pakistan, and the West Indies finished second in one world cup.

Which team won the World Cup in 1999?

The Australian Men's Cricket Team won the Cricket World Cup in 1999. This is the only time that Australia has won the Cup. The Australians were undefeated during the group stage of the tournament, but lost their first match during the Super Eight stage to South Africa. However, they went on to win the rest of their matches and claim the title.

Australia entered the Cup as heavy favorites due to their recent success at this event and also because world cricket was going through a period of stability after the chaos of the 1990s. Despite these factors, many people believed that South Africa would beat Australia in the final. After all, South Africa had won the last three Cups editions. But Australia came out victorious by defeating South Africa in the final by seven runs. Steve Waugh was named player of the tournament for his brilliant batting performances which included two centuries and five fifties. He was supported by other top batsmen such as David Boon, Mark Taylor, and Justin Langer who contributed heavily to their campaign. Fast bowler Jason Gillespie was named player of the series for his impressive figures of 12 wickets in three matches.

This victory made Australia the first non-Indian team to win the Cup since its inception in 1977.

When did the Cricket World Cup start in 1999?

This is a list of the final 15-man squads announced for the 1999 Cricket World Cup in England, which ran from 14 May to 20 June 1999, sorted by jersey number. Each club was required to number its players from 1 to 15, with captains often wearing the No. 1 shirt. 13.04.1300: The final list of 15 men has been revealed.

All teams but India had finally arrived at the venue for the final tournament. Pakistan were banned from competing by the International Cricket Council (ICC) because of terrorism concerns, and neither they nor India took part. Sri Lanka replaced them and joined Australia as winners of the regional tournaments.

The Indian team was supposed to arrive at the Kensington Oval venue in London on 24 April, but due to security reasons, their arrival was delayed by one day.

India's squad was filled with young players who hadn't done well in previous years. Their only real test player was Sachin Tendulkar, who was going into his last World Cup before retiring from international cricket. However, India crashed out in the group stage with just one win against South Africa.

Australia won the final match by seven wickets to claim their first title. They were led out to the field by captain Adam Gilchrist, who was awarded the man of the match prize.

What was the number of teams in the 2003 Cricket World Cup?

The tournament included 14 teams, the most in World Cup history at the time, who competed in 54 matches. It used the same structure as the 1999 Cricket World Cup, with teams drawn into two groups and the top three in each group qualifying for the Super Sixes stage. The remaining places in the last six spots in each group went to the lowest-ranked remaining team after they had been eliminated from the competition.

India were crowned world champions for the second time. They had also won the previous year's tournament in Australia. South Africa were the other winners, defeating England in the final by seven runs. This was their first World Cup victory. India had already defeated them in the 1987 World Cup final before their inclusion in the new league system then in place. They had lost all their subsequent matches against India.

This was the first World Cup to be held in Asia, and it proved very successful for cricketing reasons as well as commercial ones. The largest stadium used in the tournament was Hanlan's Point in Toronto, which can hold 55,000 people. It is estimated that around 2 billion dollars was spent on tickets alone. In fact, Canada's share of the revenue was more than $100 million, making it the most profitable World Cup ever.

Canada were one of the eight original members of CCI along with Australia, England, India, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand and Italy.

About Article Author

Harry Mcquillen

Harry Mcquillen is a sports enthusiast and passionate about his work. He has over 10 years of experience in the industry, and loves to share his knowledge with others. In his free time he likes to workout at the gym, play basketball, and travel around the world to watch sports competitions.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts