What is the ruling when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

What is the ruling when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

A baserunner is out if he or she is struck by a fair batted ball while standing on a base, unless the ball has already past an infielder or the infield fly rule has been declared. The base is not a haven. A baserunner cannot use the field as a shield and expect to continue running.

If a batter strikes out looking, then no runners are on base and there was no error made by the umpire. However, if the batter does not strike out looking, but instead walks or is hit by a pitch, then both runners advance around the bases until either player reaches a tag outlet where they can be tagged out or their team members can force them out any other way. For example, if the batter who did not strike out takes first base on a fielder's choice and no one else is out, then he has scored a run regardless of what happens from that point on.

In addition, if the batter who did not strike out is able to reach second base before anyone forces him out, then he has scored a run even though he was eventually caught trying to steal third. On the other hand, if the batter who did not strike out is forced out before reaching any base, then no scorecard entry for a run is necessary because there were no legal players present at the time of the incident.

What happens if a ball is batted into the air?

Baserunners face a conundrum when a ball is hit into the air. If the ball is caught, they must return to their original base; if the ball is not caught, the batter becomes a runner, and certain runners must advance to the next base. Baserunners scrutinize the fielders and advance only far enough away from the base to guarantee a safe return. If a baserunner reaches first safely, then he or she can be awarded with a free pass (or walk) while the batter stands back up at the plate.

In practice, this scenario rarely occurs but it can happen if someone misses a catchable ball deep in their own territory. The baserunner will usually attempt to advance any way they can e.g. by diving or sliding into home plate. If they are successful, they will usually get credit for an out. If they are not able to reach first base before being tagged out, they have failed to touch all four bases and they will be called for a baserunning error.

As mentioned, it is very rare for a ball to be hit into the air that cannot be caught. However, if this does happen then the baserunner has no way of knowing what action the fielders will take so they need to assume that the ball was caught and stop running. A baserunner who ignores this possibility may be thrown out by the catcher as they try to steal second base.

Can a runner be out on a batted ball in softball?

2 In contrast to baseball, a runner who is hit by a fair batted ball while in touch with his base is not out unless deliberate interference is determined. The rationale for this rule variation is because no lead-offs are permitted.

The hitter swings at the last second and smacks a ground ball to the shortstop position. The shortstop, though, has moved to third base, and no one is in position to field the ball. The runner moving from second base is struck by the ground ball. The runner from second is out after being hit by a batted ball.

Can a runner run in front of a fielder who is making the initial play on a batted ball?

C. A runner may be standing on a base when a defensive player pushes the runner while watching the ball fly. The rule states that a runner must clear any space required by a fielder to make a play on a hit ball, unless the runner is in contact with a lawfully occupied base at the time of the interference. In this case, the runner would not need to leave his or her position.

In other words, if the runner is at third base and the batter hits a ball that is caught by first baseman, who turns and throws to second base where the runner is waiting, then the runner at third can remain there even though there is now a fielder between them and the next base. If the runner at third doesn't retreat far enough before the throw, then he or she will be called out. If the runner does retreat far enough so that there is no longer a fielder between him or her and the next base, then he or she is safe and can proceed to third base.

As long as the runner isn't touching a base when interfered with by a defensive player, then he or she has the right to stay put. If the runner does leave his or her position, however, then he or she is out.

Overall, runners have no choice but to leave their positions if a fielder interferes with their ability to reach a base.

What does a base runner need to do if the ball hit by the batter is caught in the air?

If a runner is touching his base when he is struck by an infield fly, he is not out, but the batter is. Even in this case, the ball is dead. A baserunner may attempt to advance any base he can reach while the ball is in the air; otherwise, he will have no chance of reaching first base before the ball hits the ground and becomes dead. If he attempts to advance to a place where there is no field to cover, for example between second and third bases, or across the line into left field, he is out.

However, if the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground, then it is a home run and the batter-runner is out. This happens very often with balls hit deep in the hole at shortstop, second base, and so on. The ball is thrown to the plate before any runners are moving, so the batter has no idea that he has been hit by a pitch until he sees the catcher waving for him to stop running.

If a batted ball is caught by a fielder who is not playing defense at any base, such as a left fielder making a catch in the outfield, then it is an automatic double rather than a single. The batter cannot be awarded with a tag on the runner because there is no one playing defense at first base.

Can a batter hit an illegal pitch?

All outs stand, and runners who were not declared out must return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. If a runner advances because of a stolen base, wild pitch, passed ball, or an illegal pitch while the improper batter is at bat, such an advance is legal. However, if the advanced baserunner attempts to return to the base he or she was occupying before being called for an illegal pitch, then this is considered a dead ball situation and a double will be awarded to the opposing team.

In addition, if the batter hits an illegal pitch, the umpire can signal any number of balls and strike him or her out. The batter cannot object to the call by the ump since it is an illegal pitch.

However, if the batter strikes out looking at an illegal pitch, he or she can file a grievance with the league office regarding the call. The commissioner's office will determine if there was enough evidence to prove that the pitch was illegal, thus leading to the batter being given the choice of taking another pitch or being removed from the game.

If the batter chooses to take another pitch, he or she will be issued a free pass for the next game played by the same team. If the illegal pitch results in a strikeout when the batter does not look at it, he or she will be issued a warning letter from the commissioner's office.

About Article Author

Donald Ferguson

Donald Ferguson is a sports enthusiast and coach. He has been coaching for over 15 years and has been involved in sports his entire life. He loves to help people improve their athletic abilities whether it be through coaching or just by being there to support them.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts