If, for some strange reason, a direct kick is kicked directly into your side's own goal, the other team is granted a corner kick. Kick (Indirect) If a goalie commits any of the following offenses inside his own penalty area, the opposing team receives an indirect kick: kicking at an opponent or using the heel of the foot to hit the ball.
Other examples of indirect kicks include when a defender shoots at the ball but it hits another player first; or if a goalkeeper uses his hands to stop a shot.
Finally, if a player enters the field of play with a deliberate attempt to cause injury to another player, this is known as a tactical foul and the opposing team receives a free kick.
The term "indirect" means not directly done but still accomplished. Thus, an indirect kick is one that doesn't go where you want it to but still causes damage.
In soccer, there are two ways to score goals: directly and indirectly. A direct free kick is given to a player when he is touched by an opponent outside the penalty box. In most cases, opponents will retreat behind their own end line when a player is about to receive a direct free kick. Because they have no intention of letting the ball be put in the back of the net, they fight hard to prevent this from happening.
An indirect kick is awarded to the opposition team if a goalkeeper commits any of the following offenses inside his own penalty area: touches the ball again with his/her hands after releasing it from control and before it hits another player. If the hand or arm that touches the ball is not the shooting arm, this is considered a foul and requires a free-kick to be taken by the opposing team.
The referee will usually call for an indirect free-kick, but he may choose to give a direct free-kick instead if this seems appropriate. For example, if the goalkeeper touched the ball with his hand before releasing it into play, then this would be regarded as a foul directly against him and he would receive a yellow card. He could therefore be given a direct free-kick outside the penalty box.
Indirect kicks are used mostly on set pieces. The advantage of this method is that the opposing team must take the free-kick within 10 yards of their own goal line, which reduces the risk of them scoring from close range shots.
There is also a form of indirect kick called a "cross-shot". This is where the goalkeeper either throws or crosses the ball with his/her right foot across the face of the six-yard box.
If a goalie commits any of the following offenses inside his own penalty area, the opponent is given an indirect free kick: He touches the ball with his hand after a teammate purposefully kicks it at him. If a goalkeeper uses his hands to deflect a shot away from himself, he is considered to have lost track of the ball and it is legal for an opponent to score.
The referee can also give an indirect free kick if he believes that a foul was committed outside the penalty area but still within the playing field. For example, if a player is taken down by a opposing player as he tries to escape through the back door, the referee could indicate a free kick using his whistle.
Similarly, if a defender pushes or pulls the attacker out of position, giving the opponent no chance to shoot on goal, this would be a foul outside the penalty area and therefore warranting an indirect free kick. However, if the defender uses excessive force in doing so, then this would be a serious offense and would likely result in a card being shown to the defender for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Finally, if a goalkeeper abuses the advantage given to him by being in front of the net, he will often receive an indirect free kick.