Because the net interfered, a served ball that touches the net but lands in is replayed. If the ball touches the net and lands in on any other shot in the game, it remains in play. If you do not return an opponent's excellent shot before the second bounce, you lose the point.
What happens if the ball lands on or around the net? If the ball hits the net but still bounces on the opponent's side of the table during a serve, the point is a let (which means it needs to be replayed). If the ball strikes the net but does not make it to the opposite half of the table, the receiver receives a point. If the ball goes into the audience or another player, the score remains at deuce.
If the ball hits the net and then drops into the opposing court, the receiver will get a free shot because it was not seen by the referee. This can happen when the ball first hits the net but does not go far enough to be considered out of bounds.
If the ball hits the net and then bounces back on the same side of the table, the server gets another chance to win the point. If the ball returns to the server's side of the table again before he has hit it, then this is called a double fault and the player should wait until his next opportunity to play the ball.
If the ball hits the net and then bounces back on the same side of the table twice, the player who served it must retire for the break. The player can no longer serve during this game. When the player comes back onto the court, the rally continues from where it left off before the break.
Q. The ball may only be touched twice before it returns over the net. Team A just served to Team B, and Team A was defeated. Which team will serve the ball next?
A team's ball knocked into the net may still be maintained in play (up to three hits) if the net is not touched by a player. Players are not permitted to touch the net. If two opposing players contact the net at the same time, the ball is deemed dead and must be replayed.
A. The assaulting team has used all three of its allowed hits. B. the attacking team has had a chance to spike the ball or, in the official's opinion, directs the ball with the goal of returning it to the opponent's court.
PLAY ON THE NET A ball knocked into the net may still be maintained in play (up to three hits) if no player makes contact with the net. Players are not permitted to touch the net. If two opposing players contact the net at the same time, the ball is deemed dead and must be replayed.
When playing on the net, players should avoid touching the mesh of the net with their hands or bodies for fear of being called for an attack violation. However, they can reach over it to hit the ball.
There are three ways that a ball knocked into the net may remain in play: if no player contacts the net with his hand or body, if both opponents' hands touch the net but don't contact the ball, or if only one opponent's hand touches the net. In any of these cases, the ball remains in play until it either leaves the court or is removed by a referee or judge. If a player contacts the net with his hand or body and keeps control of the ball, it is legal. If the player doesn't control the ball after making contact with the net, it is considered a fault and a point penalty will be assessed against him.
A ball knocked into the net may also remain in play if it bounces back out before any player contacts the net again. This allows for close-out shots from deep within the court that would otherwise be impossible without removing the ball from play.
The serving team does not lose its serve if a served ball hits the net. The net serve is deemed in-play unless it 1 does not continue over the net or 2 falls outside the other team's court-side undisturbed. If a server bats an unseeded ball, that ball becomes the deuce court rule. If a server bats a seeded ball, that ball becomes a change of ends violation and the opposing team receives a free hit.
If a server strikes the ball with their fist instead of using the racket, that ball is considered dead and cannot be re-served. A player who fails to return a ball in accordance with these rules will be called for a fault. When this occurs, the server has the option of either accepting the penalty shot or passing the ball to another player. If the server rejects the penalty shot, the opponent may enter the court to play them at match point.
A game can also end in a deuce break due to a player being unable to continue. This usually happens when the player suffers an injury which prevents them from playing further. In this case, the referee will signal a medical timeout to allow for assistance on court. Once the player has been removed from the game, the opponent will receive a free shot without risk of retaliation.
Finally, a match may end in a forfeit win by one of the teams.
A team's ball knocked into the net may still be maintained in play (up to three hits) if the net is not touched by a player.
As long as there are balls in play, there will be opportunities for blocks or spikes to hit the floor. These actions should never be ignored by referees; instead, they should be signaled so that play can continue.
If a player touches the net with either hand or foot, it is a violation called "fault". The server is awarded a point and has another chance to attack. If he fails to score within the time limit, the opposition wins the point and takes over serving. There is no penalty for hitting the net with an arm below the shoulder. But if your opponent eludes you and strikes the net with his elbow, you have the right to call for an arm strike. If you do, both players will be given time penalties and the game will proceed to a fifth ball. An arm strike can also happen if a player contacts the net with his head while trying to block a spike. In this case, he receives a warning from the referee who will then call for a change of sides.
In order for a player to reach the net, he must first enter the court area enclosed by the sidelines and service lines.