What does FCS stand for in college football?

What does FCS stand for in college football?

North Dakota State finishes 15-0 and wins the 2018 FCS National Championship! # FCSChampionship https://t.co/E1XmSDkx1r The FCS is the NCAA's other Division I division. Football Championship Subdivision was known as Division I-AA from 1978 until 2005.

FCS stands for "Football Championship Series". The FCS consists of ten teams that play in a two-month long post-season tournament called the FCS Playoffs. The winner of this tournament goes on to play in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) championship game.

The FCS began in 1971 when eight schools joined together to form what was then called the American Intercollegiate Football Association (AIFA). These schools included Alabama A&M, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Bethune-Cookman University, Florida A&M, Howard, Jacksonville State, and South Carolina State. In 1975, North Carolina A&T became the ninth member of the AIFA. In 1978, the name was changed to Division I-AA to reflect the fact that these schools were playing at a higher level than other colleges and universities that were not associated with a university system. In 2005, the name was again changed to Division I FCS to better represent the quality of football played by schools in this division.

What is the FCS Division?

The NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision is abbreviated as FCS. It was previously known as the Division I-AA Football Championship until December 2006. The FCS is the highest level of NCAA collegiate football, with a playoff system to decide the national champion. An invitation is given to participating teams,...

The first season of college football's Division I-A (now known as FBS) began on September 3, 1970, when Southwestern Louisiana met North Texas in Dallas. The Southwestern Lions were undefeated and ranked #1 when the conference championship game was canceled due to rain delays. They went on to defeat North Texas 34-7 for their first national title. The following year, 1971, there were only eight schools playing football at the D-I-A level. A split two-team division called I-AA was established by the NCAA to provide an alternative pathway for small colleges to play competitive football. Many large universities refused to join I-AA because they felt it would be unfair to have smaller schools challenge their authority.

In 1978, after many complaints from the larger schools that I-AA wasn't strong enough to provide a real challenge to the bigger programs, the NCAA approved a rule change that allowed any school with an enrollment under 100 students to play at the D-I-A level. This rule change helped fuel the growth of college football, as more and more small schools joined the sport.

Where is the FCS football championship played?

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) coordinated the 2018 NCAA Division I FCS football season, which was part of collegiate football in the United States. On January 5, 2019, the FCS Championship Game was held in Frisco, Texas. The game was hosted by the University of North Texas, who had won the title game the previous two seasons. Appalachian State defeated North Carolina State 27–7 to claim their first national championship.

The FCS championship game is played on the campus of a school that has not yet earned the right to play in or win a bowl game. In fact, only three teams have ever reached or exceeded expectations going into the season and still failed to earn an invitation to a bowl game. Those teams are Youngstown State in 1990, Maine in 2001, and Richmond in 2008.

The FCS championship game is different from other college football games in that there is no direct path to the NFL. Almost all professional players come from some sort of college program, either division I or II. However, several players who started their careers in the FCS have gone on to have successful pro careers. These include Eric Berry, Ed Reed, Michael Bennett, Malcolm Butler, Joe Flacco, Trent Gentry, Tamba Hali, Brian Kimbrow, Dont'a Hightower, Jarvis Jones, Kevin Reddick, Danny Trevathan, Jerod Mayo, Zach Moore, and Aaron Ross.

About Article Author

Richard Borst

Richard Borst is an expert on sports and athletes. He loves to write about the athletes' lives off the field as well as their skills on it. Richard's favorite part of his job is meeting the players in person and getting to know them on a personal level, which allows him to write about them with accuracy and compassion.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts