Is there a team by team World Series chart?

Is there a team by team World Series chart?

The Baseball Almanac has a World Series team-by-team table that shows not only the number of World Series games played, but also the number of games played, won, or tied at home and away. The table only includes official World Series games, and franchises are divided to properly depict each team's Fall Classic experience. For example, both the New York Yankees and Brooklyn Dodgers played in five World Series over all, but only the Yanks have a column for this year's series due to being defeated in five games by the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Other notable facts about these teams include:

The Chicago Cubs have the most World Series titles with nine, followed by the St. Louis Cardinals with eight.

The Yankees have the most overall wins with 129, followed by the Cardinals with 118.

The Yankees have won the most games on their home field with 67, followed by the Cardinals with 46.

The Cincinnati Reds have the lowest winning percentage in World Series history at.333 (8-24).

The Pittsburgh Pirates have the highest winning percentage in World Series history at.583 (17-29).

The Yankees have appeared in more Game 7s than any other team - 11 - including the last two World Series.

The Cardinals have appeared in the most Game 7s too with 10.

How many World Series does each team have?

From 1903 until 2020, the number of World Series championships won by a team.

Number of World Series won
New York Yankees27
St. Louis Cardinals11
Boston Red Sox9
Los Angeles Dodgers7

What team has the most World Series?

The eight clubs with at least eight World Series titles are shown below.

  • Yankees: 27.
  • Cardinals: 11.
  • 3 (tie).
  • Dodgers: 7.
  • Best of the rest (teams with at least 3):
  • Tigers: 4.
  • White Sox: 3.
  • Twins/Senators: 3.

What is the ranking of the World Series?

It is ranked 30th out of 116 World Series. We'll explain why later. 1. Baseball-game Reference's leverage index, which analyzes how close the game is to each play and how likely the following play is to change each team's odds of winning.

Milwaukee's Lew Burdette won three of the team's four games and pitched two shutouts, one of which came in Game 5, when the Braves defeated Whitey Ford and the Yankees, 1-0. Barry Bonds, who hit four home runs and was walked 13 times, was the focus of the series.

Which teams will play in the 2020 World Series?

The 2020 World Series was Major League Baseball's championship series for the 2020 season. The 116th World Series was a best-of-seven series between the American League championTampa Bay Rays and the National League champion Los Angeles Dodgers. It began on Wednesday, October 8, and ended on Sunday, October 12, with the Rays defeating the Dodgers 4–3 to win their first World Series title.

Both the Rays and the Dodgers had home field advantage throughout the series because they were both wild-card teams. The Rays became the first wild-card team since the New York Yankees in 2000 to win the World Series while the Dodgers joined this year's other wild-card winner, the Houston Astros, as winners of the World Series after playing in their league's wild card game. The last time there have been three wild-card winners in one season was 1998 when the Florida Marlins, Atlanta Braves, and Boston Red Sox all made it to the World Series.

This is the second time that the Rays have won the World Series; they also did so in 2017. It is the first time that the Dodgers have appeared in the Series more than once without winning it all previously appearing in 1959, 1963, 1981, and 2013. They are just the third team to appear in the Series five or more times and never win it all (the others being the St. Louis Cardinals and Chicago Cubs).

Who was in the World Series in 2014?

Toggle navigation: Navigate to the search for The 2014 World Series was Major League Baseball's (MLB) championship series for the 2014 season. The 110th World Series was a best-of-seven series between the National League (NL) champion San Francisco Giants and the American League (AL) champion Kansas City Royals. It began on October 23 and ended on November 6 with the Royals defeating the Giants 4–3 to win their first world title.

The Giants had previously won three other world championships in five attempts, but this was their first since 2002. The Royals were trying to become the first team to win consecutive World Series titles since the New York Yankees did so in 1999 and 2000. They had already been crowned American League champions after winning 92 games compared to the Giants' 91; however, the Royals lost the ALDS to the Orioles 3–0. Game 1 of the World Series was played at AT&T Park in San Francisco. The venue is known as "The Nest" due to its design similarities to a bird's nest.

San Francisco got off to a fast start against Royals starter Johnny Cueto, who had been voted the MVP of the AL playoffs. Buster Posey hit a two-run home run off of Cueto in the first inning and Brandon Belt added an insurance run in the third. The Giants went on to beat Cueto and the Royals 3–0.

Who is the team with the most World Series titles?

With 11 World Series titles through the 2011 season, the St. Louis Cardinals have the most of any National League franchise. The Chicago Cubs, with 10 World Series titles, are second in the National League. The Boston Red Sox, with 9 World Series titles, are third in the National League.

The Cardinals won their first World Series title in 1876 and have since then won every year except for 1904 when they lost to Philadelphia. The Cubs, on the other hand, have only won once before 1947 when they defeated Joe DiMaggio's New York Yankees 4-3 in seven games. Since then, they have not finished higher than fourth place.

The Red Sox, like the Cubs, have never been shut out of the World Series - they've always come back from behind at least one time during the series. However, they have never won more than two games in a row or three games overall during any series they have played in. They have, however, won the World Series four times: 1916, 1917, 1920, and 1922.

In addition to these three teams, the San Francisco Giants have also won five World Series titles between 1974 and 1980.

Are there two teams from the same city in the World Series?

It is one of only two World Series that have included two teams from the same city other than New York; the other being the 1906 World Series featuring two Chicago clubs. Two teams from the San Francisco metropolitan area competed in the 1989 World Series, albeit not from the same city. The Oakland Athletics defeated the California Angels four games to three in what was then the best-of-seven series.

In fact, all nine World Series have featured at least one team from both New York and Los Angeles (with eight of them including two from each). The only exception is the 2002 World Series which had only one Los Angeles team when the Anaheim Angels defeated the New York Yankees. However, both cities now have more than one team in the AL so this could happen again soon!

There have been many attempts by different cities to bring home a World Series title, but only two have succeeded so far: New York in 1909 and Los Angeles in 2009.

The Boston Red Sox were originally from Boston but moved to New York City before the 1946 season. The New York Yankees also came from New York City but moved to the Bronx before the 1962 season.

Even though both these teams play in New York City, they are not based there. The Yankees' principal office is in Newark, New Jersey, while the Red Sox's main office is in Arlington, Texas.

About Article Author

Calvin Kaliher

Calvin Kaliher is an avid sportsman. He loves to play sports and also enjoys watching them on TV. Calvin has been playing since he was a little boy, and he has never stopped since then. He plays many different sports such as football, tennis, and even golf!

Related posts