How many World Cup finals has Messi won?

How many World Cup finals has Messi won?

Four World Cup championships Messi's World Cup performance Despite appearing in four World Cup finals, Argentina and Messi came closest to winning the championship in Brazil in 2014, when they faced Germany in the final. They lost 1-4 with Messi scoring their only goal.

Messi has been involved in several major matches during his career, but he has never won the trophy. He has come close on three occasions - in 2010 when Spain played Australia in the last match of the round of 16, in 2014 when Argentina took on Germany in the final and again in 2016 when Argentina played Brazil - all losses.

Messi has also missed two penalty kicks he had opportunity to save - once in a shoot-out against Italy in 2013 and another in the last minute of the last game of the tournament in 2014 when he missed an open netter against Uruguay.

He is one of five players who have appeared in every World Cup since its inception in 1930. The other four are Alfredo Di Stéfano, Gerd Müller, Ronaldo and Luis Suárez.

Messi is the third highest scorer in World Cup history with 58 goals. Only Di Stefano (59) and Muller (68) have more than him.

When was the last time Messi or Ronaldo won the World Cup?

Ronaldo and Messi are the only players to have never won a World Cup. Messi lives under the shadow of Diego Maradona, who helped Argentina win the World Cup in 1986. Messi did lead Argentina to the 2014 World Cup final, but they were defeated by Germany. Ronaldo's deepest World Cup run came in 2006, when Portugal reached the semifinals. He is still looking for his first trophy.

In which country has most World Cup wins?

Germany has won the most World Cups with five. The USA have won three times, all in the early years of the competition: 1930, 1934, and 1938. England has won once; at its second attempt in 1966. Brazil has won once; in 1962. Italy has won once; in 1990. Spain has won once; in 2010. France has won once; in 1998. Colombia has won once; in 1994. Algeria has won once; in 2002. South Africa has won once; in 2010. Zimbabwe has won once; in 1998.

Which player is the top scorer in World Cup history?

Pele is the all-time leading goal scorer with 58 goals. He scored more than once in a tournament four times. He is followed by Ronaldo with 28 goals. Both men played in their day.

When did Messi and Ronaldo play in the World Cup?

Both Ronaldo and Messi competed in their first World Cup in 2006.

They both went on to become two of the most successful players in international soccer history. Messi has more goals than any other player in international soccer history and is already one of the all-time greats. Ronaldo has more trophies than anyone else (seven overall), including five World Cups with Portugal and two with Brazil. He is also the only player to have scored in every World Cup finals match he has played in (six matches).

Both men were born in August 29th, 1987. But while Messi started his career late, Ronaldo began much earlier. He made his professional debut at the age of 17 years and 311 days for Portuguese club Sporting CP. He was given the number 9 shirt. Ronaldo went on to play for several more clubs before joining Barcelona in 2003. He helped them win four consecutive La Liga titles from 2005 to 2008 before moving to Real Madrid in 2009.

Messi joined Barcelona in January 2007 after making an immediate impact during his first season with the club. He continued to improve each year at Barca, helping them win another six trophies between 2009 and 2015.

About Article Author

Eddie Bonar

Eddie Bonar is a sports fanatic and the kind of guy who will stay up late to watch his favorite team play. He has an extensive knowledge of football, basketball, and baseball, but he also likes to play other sports like soccer and hockey. Eddie can often be found reading up on his favorite sports stars' lives outside of the sporting world, because he wants to learn as much as he can about what makes them tick.

Related posts