How many Rose Bowls has Bo Schembechler won?

How many Rose Bowls has Bo Schembechler won?

Ten appearances in the Rose Bowl. His teams at Michigan won or split 13 Big Ten crowns and appeared in 10 Rose Bowls. During the 1970s, his 96-16-3 (.848) record was the greatest of any Division I coach. In 1977, his Wolverines finished 11-1-0 and were ranked No. 1.

Schembechler's 10 appearances in the Rose Bowl is a record that will likely never be broken. He won the game nine times, lost once when he coached West Virginia in 1969 and tied once as a graduate assistant when he watched from the stands as Ohio State beat Stanford 26-6 in 1950. He also led Michigan to its first No. 1 ranking in 1976 after winning 11 games in 1975 and finishing third in 1974.

In addition to his Michigan coaching career, he also served as an assistant for one season (1961) before taking over as head coach at Kansas State. He was fired after the 2001 season with a record of 95-32-4.

He returned to Michigan for two more seasons after leaving for Kansas State, where he again turned around a struggling program by bringing in new coaches and making major changes to their offense. When he died in June 2007 at the age of 78, he had just been hired to lead the Michigan football team for a 10th season.

What’s the highest attendance in Rose Bowl history?

The Rose Bowl attendance record was #106, 869 in 1973 against USC and Ohio State. With 34 final appearances in the Rose Bowl, USC has the most. USC has also won the Rose Bowl the most times, with 25, followed by Michigan, which has won the title eight times. Each of Stanford, Washington, and Ohio State has won the Rose Bowl game seven times.

Not only does Alabama have the most national titles in college football (15), but it also has the most bowl victories of any FBS school heading into its College Football Playoff battle against Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl on New Year's Eve. Alabama has also participated in the most bowl games (62).

Since 2015, the Rose Bowl has been a part of the College Football Playoff (CFP), hosting one of the semifinal games every three years as one of the New Year's Six bowls—the top six major bowl games in the national championship system. The Rose Bowl reverts to its customary Pac-12/Big Ten rivalry during non-playoff years.

What team has lost the most Rose Bowls?

USC has also won the most Rose Bowls (25), followed by Michigan and Ohio State (each with eight); Washington and Stanford (each with seven); and UCLA (each with six). Michigan has suffered the most losses (12), followed by USC (9), Ohio State (9), UCLA, Stanford (7 each), Washington and Wisconsin (6 each).

In fact, only three programs have ever won the Rose Bowl after losing the first game of the year. They are USC (2004), Michigan (2013), and Ohio State (2014).

USC was undefeated going into the 2004 Rose Bowl against Michigan. The game was tied at halftime before California scored the only touchdown of the second half to win it. It was the first time in history that a No. 1 seed had lost its opening game and still gone on to win the national championship.

Michigan's 2013 season ended in their third game when they were upset by unranked Virginia Tech in Ann Arbor, Michigan. The loss dropped them from #1 to #4 in the polls. They went on to face Oregon in the 2014 College Football Playoff Championship Game where they fell short once again as Oklahoma defeated them 34-27.

Ohio State's 2014 season came down to their last game when they played against Michigan in Columbus. The game was close early but Ohio State started to pull away late behind several big plays.

Who is the only team to have won 3 consecutive Rose Bowls?

Only USC has won three consecutive Rose Bowls (2007-08-09). USC has participated in four straight Rose Bowl games twice (1967 to 1970 and 2006 to 2009); the only other school to have done so is Ohio State (1973 to 1976). The Trojans lost all four of those games before beating Nebraska 40-38 in 2009 to end the drought.

USC's last Rose Bowl win was in 2008 when they defeated Florida St. 19-14. It was the final game for both Paul Hackett and Reggie Bush who announced their retirements a few days after the game. Matt Leinart was drafted by the New York Jets in the first round of the 2009 NFL draft. He started 15 games during his one season with the team before being traded to the Arizona Cardinals where he finished out the year. Mark Sanchez was also drafted by the Jets in the 2010 NFL draft and is currently the starting quarterback for the team. He replaced Leinart at the beginning of that season.

The last time the Rose Bowl was played in Los Angeles was in 1992. USC defeated Michigan 30-27 in what would be Vince Ferragamo's only season as head coach of the Trojans. The victory over Michigan ended California's NCAA record 88-game winning streak. The Golden Bears had previously beaten all other ranked opponents on their schedule en route to the No. 1 ranking.

About Article Author

Jerry Keeley

Jerry Keeley is an athlete. He's competed in wrestling, and sumo wrestling, and he's won medals in both. Jerry can still lift the heaviest person in the room. He's not as big as he used to be, but he's still got it!

Related posts