How many post-season games are there in the NFL?

How many post-season games are there in the NFL?

The NFL presently has seven postseason games (three for each conference plus the Super Bowl) as well as the Pro Bowl all-star game. The "losers' game" was unappealing to the league, and the Playoff Bowl came to an end. The NFL expanded its playoffs in 2018 to include four wild-card teams and two division winners.

The NFL began holding playoff games in 1972 when it added a fourth postseason spot. Prior to that, there were only three spots available for competition - the National Football Conference (NFC) and American Football Conference (AFC) teams ranked 1-4. The winner of each conference would then meet in the NFL Championship Game.

In 1998, the NFL adopted a new playoff system that is used today. Under this system, four teams - two from each conference - qualify for the postseason. They are determined by ranking among the eight placekickers from each team. The top two vote getters in each conference make the playoffs. The third-place team in each conference can be selected in one of two ways: A crossover match against another third-place team or a challenge match against the second-place team from the other conference. If any challenge matches are needed, they are played at the conclusion of the season.

There have been 37 seasons of NFL play since its inception in 1922. There have been nine different champions during that time period.

Are there any blowouts in the NFL playoffs?

Following the completion of the investigation, we have 26 NFL postseason games that qualify as blowouts. The NFL Playoff Bowl games will not be included since the NFL considers them to be just exhibition games. Everything else, however, transfers from the AFL to the AAFL. So yes, there are still plenty of blowout games in the NFL playoffs.

The most lopsided playoff game in history took place in 1973 when Miami defeated Washington 27-0. The worst loss in NFL history was also by a 27-0 score when Chicago lost to New York in 1919. That's not very inspiring!

It's worth mentioning that both these games were played before regular season scores were kept. So these scores cannot be verified but they do match up with other information about these games. We know that Miami had no defense while Chicago had no offense.

How many games are left for the Houston Texans?

Pick winners and investigate which games are most important to the Texans' chances. There are about 65,536 possible ways the N.F.L. regular season might conclude with 16 games remaining. How many of those placed the Texans in the postseason?

On January 8, 2011, the National Football League playoffs for the 2010 season started. The Green Bay Packers defeated the Pittsburgh Steelers 31–25 in Super Bowl XLV on February 6, at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas, to end the playoff tournament.

This was just the second postseason in NFL history to feature a losing club, and the first with a full regular season. The Seattle Seahawks won their division with a 7-9 record in 2010, while all four NFC West clubs had losing seasons.

How many NFL teams have gone undefeated in a season?

Only one NFL team has gone undefeated in both the regular season and following postseason games. The 1972 Miami Dolphins went undefeated in 14 regular-season games and three postseason playoff games, including Super Bowl VII against the Washington Redskins.

The first NFL team to have repeated seasons with 15 or more defeats, going 1-31 in two seasons with their single win coming in week 16 of the 2016 season. Since World War II, Detroit was the only non-expansion club to lose every game in a complete season.

When did the NFL have a minimum number of games?

The NFL did not have a defined number of games for clubs to play from 1920 through 1934, instead establishing a minimum. Beginning in 1935, the league imposed a 12-game regular season for each team, which was eventually reduced to 11 games in 1937 and 10 games in 1943, owing mostly to World War II.

History of National Football League Franchises From the National Football League's inception with 14 members in 1920 to the present 32 clubs, here's an overview of every franchise that has belonged to the NFL over the years.

How many NFL teams have gone winless in the regular season?

In NFL history, 11 teams were winless after playing at least eight games. In comparison, nine NFL teams, including those with ties, went unbeaten throughout the regular season. The 2008 Detroit Lions were the most ineffective NFL team in history. The 2008 Detroit Lions finished 0-16, setting an NFL record for the most defeats in a season. They lost every game by an average of 31 points per contest.

The winless teams were all division champions who failed to qualify for the playoffs. Only one of these teams (the 1916 Chicago Bears) had a winning record.

All eleven winless teams came from the NFL's original four leagues. The first six winless teams were all members of the American Football Association (now the NFL). The last five come from the modern-day NFL.

The league was founded in 1920 as the American Football League. It changed its name to the National Football League in 1949. The AFL and NFL merged following the 1966 season, so all teams played in both leagues during their time on top. When the new NFL season starts each year, it is now known as the "regular season"; prior to 1969, there was no such thing as an official "season" since each team played within its own division each week. However, since the 1970 season, all 16 teams have been present for all games each year. Division champions do not receive any special treatment - they are awarded a spot in the playoffs based on how many wins they accumulate during the regular season.

About Article Author

Richard Borst

Richard Borst is an expert on sports and athletes. He loves to write about the athletes' lives off the field as well as their skills on it. Richard's favorite part of his job is meeting the players in person and getting to know them on a personal level, which allows him to write about them with accuracy and compassion.

Disclaimer is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Related posts