How many Broncos jersey numbers have been retired?

How many Broncos jersey numbers have been retired?

There are other methods for the Broncos to recognize their numerous greats, such as the Ring of Fame and retiring jersey numbers. The Broncos have retired just three jersey numbers, which feature four players. These players are John Elway (number 7), Terrell Davis (number 25), Gary Zimmerman (number 34), and Bruce Smith (number 55).

Elway led the team to its only two Super Bowl victories in his six seasons as the quarterback. In between, he also had a very successful college career at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. He passed for 4,246 yards and 46 touchdowns and ran for another 1,000 yards and 14 more scores during his time there.

Davis was one of the most dominant forces in NFL history during his nine-year career with the Broncos. He recorded over 10,000 total yards from scrimmage and was considered one of the greatest football players of all time.

Zimmerman was an All-Pro center who started every game for the Broncos from 1975 to 1980. He played in a defensive line that included Smith, whom he later replaced as the starter. Zimmerman is the only player from those days still active in the NFL today.

Smith came out of USC and was a first-round draft choice of the Broncos in 1985.

How many Denver Broncos players have worn the number 49?

Only five players in Denver Broncos history have worn #49, and only one has lasted more than a year. See if you can figure out who will be honored today.

Are there any retired Denver Broncos uniform numbers?

He was known as "Johnny O," therefore his uniform number. But, of the 100 uniform number options, there are three, if not four, that no Broncos fan will ever see again. Three of these numbers have been officially decommissioned, while one is almost obsolete.

The Denver Broncos Franchise Handbook 62 seasons (1960 to 2021) record: 488-434-10; playoff record: 23-19. 3 Super Bowl victories (8 Appearances) 3 championships have been won. All-time Passing Leader: John Elway (4,123/7,250 yards, 51,475 yards, 300 touchdowns). Terrell Davis, All-Time Rushing Leader (1,655 yards, 7,607 yards, 60 touchdowns),

Who wore number 7 for the Broncos?

Elway's number 7 jersey was retired by the Denver Broncos during halftime of a Monday night game against the Miami Dolphins on September 13, 1999; the same night, he was inducted into the Denver Broncos Ring of Fame. Elway had previously been prevented from wearing it due to league rules at the time that prohibited players from wearing numbers other than 10 and 2.

In 1998, the NFL changed its uniform policy so that all jerseys could be colored like those worn by the Baltimore Colts during Elway's career there (red-white-blue). The change was made to make uniforms more attractive to fans and to give them more variation in color. Elway was given permission by the Broncos to wear number 7 because he wanted to honor his father, who had died the previous year.

During his MVP season in 1995, Elway led the Broncos to their first playoff win since 1992, beating the Chicago Bears 24-17 at home. He finished the season with 3,075 passing yards, 28 touchdowns, and only 12 interceptions.

After retiring as a player, Elway returned to the Broncos in 2001 as their quarterback coach under head coach Mike Shanahan. He was promoted to senior vice president of operations after one season, but was fired along with Shanahan after failing to reach an agreement on how to run the team's front office.

What Broncos are in the Hall of Fame?

The Denver Broncos have eight members in the Hall of Fame. John Elway (2004), Gary Zimmerman (2008), Floyd Little (2010), Shannon Sharpe (2011), Terrell Davis (2017), Champ Bailey (2019), Pat Bowlen (2019), and Steve Atwater are all Broncos Hall of Famers (2020).

John Elway led the Broncos to three Super Bowl victories during his 19-year career as a player and coach. He is also one of only four players in NFL history to win the Heisman Trophy while playing for another team (Ohio State).

Gary Zimmerman was an offensive lineman for the Broncos from 1974 to 1991. During that time, he played in five Pro Bowls and was a first-team All-Pro selection three times.

Floyd Little was a wide receiver for the Broncos from 1962 to 1969. He finished his career with the Baltimore Colts as the league's leading receiver with 901 yards receiving. Little was a two-time first-team All-NFL selection.

Shannon Sharpe was a tight end for the Broncos from 1993 to 2005. He finished his career with 1,542 receiving yards and 14 touchdowns. Sharpe was a two-time first-team All-Pro selection.

Terrell Davis was a running back for the Broncos from 1990 to 1999. He won the NFL MVP award in 1997 when he had 1,845 rushing yards and 22 touchdowns.

About Article Author

Harry Mcquillen

Harry Mcquillen is a sports enthusiast and passionate about his work. He has over 10 years of experience in the industry, and loves to share his knowledge with others. In his free time he likes to workout at the gym, play basketball, and travel around the world to watch sports competitions.

Disclaimer is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Related posts