How did Germany win the World Cup in 2014?

How did Germany win the World Cup in 2014?

Germany defeated Argentina in the World Cup final thanks to a late Mario Gotze goal. Mario Gotze's extra-time goal helped Germany defeat Argentina 1-0 in the 2014 World Cup final in the Maracana. The date was July 13, 2014.

Argentina had been undefeated until then and were considered one of the favorites to win the tournament. But Germany came out strong and scored first through Sami Khedira in the 14th minute. However, Argentina responded quickly through Angel Di Maria and then got another chance when Kevin-Prince Boateng missed a penalty kick. In the second half, Germany dominated most of the play but could not find the back of the net again. In the end, it was Gotze who scored the winning goal with an incredible strike into the top left corner from outside the box. It was his first goal since joining Bayern Munich earlier that season. Germany will now go on to face Brazil in the third-place match on July 15.

Gotze said after the game that he was happy to help his team win its first World Cup title. "It's amazing, I'm so proud of my country," he told reporters. "We fought all the way until the end and deserved to win."

Who won the 2014 World Cup final?

Germany's national football team won the 2014 FIFA World Cup final/championship. Germany defeated Argentina 1-0 in the final to win the tournament and claim the country's fourth global trophy, the first since German reunification in 1990, when West Germany also defeated Argentina by the same score in the World Cup final. The match was played at the Stade de France in Saint Denis.

Germany's triumph was its third world title and meant that manager Joachim Loew became the first manager to win the European Championship with two different nations. He led Germany to victory in 2008 after taking over from Thomas Tuchel who had been hired only five months earlier. Before joining Germania Dresden in October 1983, Loew had already won the UEFA Cup with Hamburg United during his previous job as coach of Germany. He is the most successful coach in German history with three titles so far.

Argentina's loss ended its chances of claiming a record fifth successive World Cup title. It was also its second consecutive final defeat after losing to Germany on penalties following a 2-2 draw after extra time. This was also Argentina's third final loss to Germany after being ahead at some point during the match. Argentina last won the World Cup in 1978 when it was known as the World Cup.

This was also Germany's third world cup victory and marked their emergence as one of Europe's top teams.

Who won the World Cup in 2014?

The German national football team won the FIFA World Cup/Championship in 2014.

Germany defeated Argentina 1-0 in the final to win the tournament and claim the country's fourth global trophy, the first since German reunification in 1990, when West Germany also defeated Argentina by the same score in the World Cup final.

Who defeated West Germany in the 1986 Soccer World Cup?

Argentina Watch highlights of Argentina's 3-2 triumph over West Germany in the 1986 World Cup final, captained by Diego Maradona. The South Americans took a 2-0 lead with to goals from Jose Luis Brown and Jorge Valdano before Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Rudi Voller leveled the game. But then came the famous "Diego Armando" celebration that has become synonymous with world football.

Germany were the pre-tournament favorites but they were able to win only one match out of four during the group stage and were subsequently eliminated from the tournament. This was also Argentina's first world cup victory.

The match took place at the Seoul Olympic Stadium on June 25, 1986. Argentina won 3-2 thanks to two goals from Diego Maradona and an own goal from Bodo Illgner. This is one of the most memorable games in World Cup history.

After the match, Maradona announced that he was leaving the team because he didn't want to give away any goals. He had already scored two goals in the tournament and he didn't want to break his record of five goals in a single World Cup finals. However, later reports revealed that he was forced out of the team by coach Carlos Bilardo. According to these reports, Bilardo did not want to use Maradona as a striker since he believed that this would limit the player's freedom of movement on the pitch.

How did Germany reach the semi-finals of the 2010 World Cup?

Germany defeated Argentina 4-0 in the Cape Town Stadium on July 3, 2010, to go to the semi-finals. Germany has scored four goals in a match for the third time in the competition. Thomas Muller scored Germany's opening goal in the third minute of the game with a header from a free kick made by Bastian Schweinsteiger.

On July 11, 2010, the final was place at Soccer City in Johannesburg. Spain overcame the Netherlands 1-0 in extra time thanks to a goal by Andres Iniesta. Iniesta scored the most recent World Cup-winning goal (116'). Spain won their first World Cup, becoming the seventh team to do so.

With four minutes remaining in extra time, Andres Iniesta's goal handed Spain a 1-0 victory against the Netherlands. The match, which featured an exceptionally high amount of yellow cards, was officiated by English referee Howard Webb.

What was the score of Holland v Argentina in 1978?

Argentina 3-1 Holland Rob Rensenbrink hit the post in the waning seconds of the game, bringing the Dutch to their knees. No country has ever come so close to winning a World Cup but failed to do so. Regardless, Cesar Luis Menotti might become the coolest World Cup winning manager of all time.

Andres Iniesta scored a thrilling goal late in extra time to earn Spain World Cup gold for the first time, although it was the Netherlands' third final defeat.

With no preceding match between Holland and Spain to discuss, we may as well recall previous World Cup finals. Not least since Holland was in two of them, in 1974 and 1978, and Spain, kind of, in 1950. Uruguay 4, Argentina 0 in 1930.

Where did Italy win the World Cup in 1938?

The tournament was won by Italy, which defeated West Germany 3-1 in the final match, which was contested in the Santiago Bernabeu Stadium in Madrid, Spain. Italy won their third World Cup, but their first since 1938. Argentina, the reigning champions, were eliminated in the second group round.

Why Mexico '78? The decision to hold the tournament in Mexico was made at a time when political instability and violence had become endemic features of Mexican life. Indeed, it is difficult to think of an event that had a greater impact on bringing about President Carter's new "neomercado" economic policy. When Mexico City was chosen as the host city for the tournament, many people wondered whether the government of Mexico could be trusted not to tamper with the course of events. After all, the government was not only corrupt, but also poorly organized: presidential elections were not held until 2000, more than five years after they should have taken place.

Who was the last player to score in three consecutive World Cup matches? In 2006, Miroslav Klose became the first player to score in seven successive World Cup games when he found the net against England. However, the record for the longest stretch without being scored upon belongs to Ferenc Puskás, who played for Hungary from 1956 to 1968. He is still the only player to score in his first three matches at a World Cup.

About Article Author

Daniel Wilson

Daniel Wilson is a man of many passions. He loves to play sports, and is always looking for ways to improve his game. Basketball is his favorite sport to play, but he also likes to play soccer, ice hockey, and even golf! Daniel's favorite part about playing sports is not only the physical challenge, but also the social aspect of connecting with his teammates on the pitch or court.

Related posts