Has India won a series in England?

Has India won a series in England?

Only three times has India won a Test series in England: in 1971 (under Ajit Wadekar's captaincy), in 1986 (under Kapil Dev's leadership), and in 2007 (under Rahul Dravid's captaincy). Following 2007, India visited England three times, in 2011, 2014, and 2018, but failed to win the series.

India won the first Test they played against England, at Edgbaston, by an innings and 130 runs. It was their only victory in the five-match series. The other four matches were drawn. Vijay Manjrekar made a century on his debut and India won with time to spare to take a 1-0 lead in the series. This remains India's only Test match victory in England.

India have lost all their Test matches they have played against England at Lord's. This includes the two matches under Rahul Dravid's captaincy in 2007. The Indian team was dismissed for less than 100 in both these matches - once by Alastair Cook's England and again by Andrew Strauss's side. Both matches ended in draws.

England won the last match they played against India, at The Oval, by an innings and 193 runs to take a 2-1 series victory. This is the largest winning margin in a Test match series between India and England. Ravindra Jadeja took 5 wickets in the match as England fell to their second successive home series defeat.

Has India won the World Cup?

The Indian cricket team has won two World Cups. In addition to winning the 1983 Cricket World Cup, they also won the 2011 Cricket World Cup on home soil, defeating Sri Lanka. They were also runners-up in the 2003 Cricket World Cup and four times semifinalists (1987, 1996, 2015, 2019).

India's first World Cup win came at the 1983 Cricket World Cup in England. The country had never before won a World Cup match. India went on to beat New Zealand in the final by eight wickets. Their captain, Kapil Dev, was named player of the tournament.

In 2011, India won its second World Cup title. The tournament was played in India and was known as the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 due to rights issues with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). India defeated Sri Lanka in the final by seven runs. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named the man of the match for his role in guiding his side to victory.

India has also reached the semifinals on five other occasions: 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, and 2015. The team was eliminated from the tournament in each instance apart from in 1999 when they finished third behind Australia and England but qualified for the play-offs on basis of scoring rate. In 2001, India lost their quarterfinal match to South Africa by ten wickets after being put into bat by their opponents.

How many matches did India lose?

As of January 7, 2019, India has played 533 Test matches; they had won 150 matches, lost 165 matches, and drawn 217 matches, with one tied. International One Day.


Has India ever won in New Zealand?

The trip contained three Tests, five One-Day Internationals, and two Twenty20 Internationals. Both T20Is were won by New Zealand. The Indian cricket team toured New Zealand in 2008-09.

Indian cricket team in New Zealand in 2009
ResultsIndia won the 5-match series 3–1
Most runsJesse Ryder (262)Virender Sehwag (259)

Who won the most matches between India and England?

In Test cricket, India has met 10 teams, with England being their most frequent opponent, with 122 matches. India has won more one-day internationals against Australia than any other side, with 28 victories.

No Result41
% Won54.71

Who won the second ODI, India vs England?

Highlights of the 2nd ODI between India and England: England defeated India by six wickets to draw the series at 1-1. Highlights of the 2nd ODI between India and England: Jonny Bairstow made a century and Ben Stokes batted brilliantly to help England chase down 337 and tie the series at 1-1. This is the first time in three attempts that England have beaten India in an away series.

India lost their second one-day international against England here on Sunday as they were bowled out for just 133 runs in Hyderabad. The visitors were knocked out of the five-match series with this result. This is the first time India have been bowled out for less than 150 in an ODI match. They had reached the target in 20.5 overs in the previous game where they had lost to Australia by eight wickets.

This is also the first time that India have lost two consecutive one-day matches after winning the first two games. In 2011, India had won the three-match ODI series 2-0 before losing the three-match series to South Africa last year.

India's latest defeat came on Sunday when they were dismissed for 133 in the eighth over of the game after being asked to bat first. Despite some brilliant batting from Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan, who brought up his fifty off just 42 balls with four fours, India could not post a challenging total.

About Article Author

Melvin Villescas

Melvin Villescas is a man of many passions. He loves sports, but he's also passionate about golf, wine, and travel. One thing that makes Melvin different from other people is that he's not afraid to talk about his love of sports. He actually enjoys sharing his thoughts on the latest sports news with his friends and readers.

Related posts