Has Florida State ever won the NCAA tournament?

Has Florida State ever won the NCAA tournament?

A shot at the National Championship Florida State has just ever competed in the NCAA Division I Tournament's National Championship game, in 1972. The Seminoles were runners-up that year to Louisville.

In fact, Florida State has been to more NCAA tournaments than any other school in America. The last time they weren't champions was when UCLA took home the title in 1985. Since then, Florida State has been either the runner-up or third place team every year except for 1993 (when Miami University of Ohio took home the title).

The most recent edition of the championship came down to Louisville vs Florida State with both teams being undefeated before the final game. Louisville won 73-71 on a buzzer beater by Peyton Siva.

Before reaching the Final Four for the first time in 1966, Florida State had never even made it past the second round of the NCAA tournament.

They've since gone on to reach the sweet sixteen five more times and the elite eight twice more.

Florida State's average finish in the tournament is 15-1. They have not lost an opening round game since 1976 (when they defeated Kentucky 69-67).

Has a college ever won football and basketball championships?

Florida is the only NCAA Division I institution to have won both the men's basketball and football championships in the same school year. The Gators football team defeated the Oklahoma Sooners 24-14 in the 2009 BCS National Championship Game in January 2009. A month later, they defeated Ohio State 33-28 in the Allstate Sugar Bowl to win the 2009 College Football Playoff.

In addition, Florida has won the baseball title in 1996. The Gators also finished first in the 2006 baseball season but were disqualified after it was discovered that several players had signed with other schools following the conclusion of their seasons with Florida.

No other school has even attempted to do this.

A number of universities have played host to both a football and basketball championship. Most recently, Miami (Ohio) did so in 2001 when it hosted both the Fiesta Bowl and the NIT Season Tip-Off. Before that, California did it in 1958 when it played host to the Heisman Trophy ceremony and the Basketball Tournament. In fact, the last time two different institutions held NCAA Championships in different sports in the same year was in 2008 when Louisiana Tech held the football title while Indiana claimed the basketball crown.

As for colleges that have held one of these titles, many have been successful in football but not basketball. Alabama is the most recent football power to claim a national title, having done so in December 2008.

When did Jacksonville State play in the national championship game?

Jacksonville State has played in four NCAA Division II National Championship Games. The Gamecocks lost their first three title games, falling 33-0 to Lehigh in 1977, 3-0 to Mississippi College in 1989 (later voided), and 23-6 to Pittsburg State in 1991. They then defeated Northwest Missouri State 34-7 to claim their first national championship.

Jacksonville State finished the 1995 season as co-champions with North Alabama after both teams were 10-1 in the D-II South Central Region. The Gamecocks received the #2 seed while the Lions were given the #3 spot. JSU defeated West Alabama 31-28 in the second round before losing to Northern Illinois University 14-20 in the quarterfinals. North Alabama also fell to NIU in the final game of the year, this time 21-14.

In 1996, Jacksonville State again finished the regular season as co-champion with North Alabama after both teams were 11-1 in the D-II South Central Region. JSU defeated West Alabama 38-7 in the second round before losing to Northern Illinois University 19-21 in the quarterfinals. North Alabama also fell to NIU in the final game of the year, this time 35-7.

Has FSU ever won a national championship?

Florida State has won three national championships, 18 conference titles, and six division crowns, in addition to making the playoffs. Its overall record is 88-15-3.

The Florida State Seminoles are a college football team that represents Florida State University (FSU). The Seminoles compete as a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC). They are based in Tallahassee, Florida, and their home stadium is Bobby Bowden Field at Doak Campbell Stadium. The team was founded in 1901 as the Florida Agricultural College before changing its name to Florida State College in 1953. They were also known as the Tallahassee Quarterbacks from 1976 to 1980 when they played in all 16 games each season.

In 1993, FSU joined the Big East Conference, where they remained for five seasons. In 1998, they returned to the ACC, where they remain today. Over the course of their history, the Seminoles have made an appearance in the National Championship game four times, winning three titles - in 1983, 1992, and 1999. Their most recent title came in 1999, when they defeated Arkansas 41-14 in New York City.

Florida State has been ranked No. 1 in the AP Poll eight times, more than any other school.

About Article Author

Craig Mills

Craig Mills is a sports enthusiast. He has played sports all his life and he still plays basketball occasionally. He enjoys watching other sports players perform well and strives to do the same. Craig also likes reading about sports history so he can learn from the past.


Sportsmanist.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts