The new understanding of handball The IFAB has also reminded players that they cannot score a goal with their arm, even if it is an unintentional goal. Previously, it was not clear whether or not this was allowed. Now it is clear that you must have control of the ball with at least one hand to score a goal.
In popular culture
In football when a player scores a goal by accident but it was with his/her hand he/she is usually given a penalty kick instead of being awarded the goal. This is because scoring with your arm is intentional and thus forbidden by law.
In basketball it is possible to score with your hand if you are trying to pass the ball but not if you are defending against a shoot-clock violation. In other words, if you are trying to play defense you must use your body language to protect the ball. If you do not, then you have scored with your hand and it is illegal.
In ice hockey it is legal to score with your hand as long as it is not blocked by another player. Otherwise, they would be able to avoid contact with him/her and gain a free shot at the net.
The most important regulation modification imposed by the IFAB regarding how handballs are called is that a goal will not be counted if the side that scored got possession of the ball through an unintentional handball. Because field players are not permitted to score with their hands, the IFAB amended the regulations to make it clear that goalies are not permitted to do so as well.
In fact, FIFA's rules state that "a goalkeeper may not handle the ball with his hands or arms outside the penalty area." This is because any action by the goalkeeper which leads to a direct free kick being awarded against his team can be considered as cheating. The rules also state that if a goalkeeper uses his hands inside the penalty area he should obtain permission from the referee before doing so.
It is very rare for a goalkeeper to score with his hand but it has happened. The first recorded instance of this happening was in the 1950 World Cup when Argentine goalkeeper Roberto Garmendia handled the ball twice in one match while playing for Argentina against Brazil. He had no way of knowing at the time but both handslings would set up goals for him later in the game. He ended up scoring two own goals as Brazil won 2-1.
Since then there have been several other instances where keepers have scored with their hands including: Fernando Peyroteo of Spain who scored an own goal during a 1978 World Cup match against France; and Edwin van der Sar of the Netherlands who scored an own goal during the 1999 Champions League final match against Arsenal England.
It is still feasible to score an own goal using one's hands or arm. If a player or team official is unlawfully on the field of play while his or her team scores, the goal is disallowed, and the other team is granted a direct free kick. If the obstruction was committed by a player who has been sent off or is red carded, the referee can award a penalty kick instead. If a player uses their hand to deflect a ball into their own net, it is considered as an own goal.
In fact, this has happened more than once in football history. Here are the details:
In 1878, an English footballer named John Goodison scored an own goal in almost every match he played in during the season. The reason for this is that he was bribed by a local brewery to do so. When the scandal broke, Goodison resigned from his club immediately. He later worked as a butcher until his death in 1920 at the age of 57.
Another example is American soccer player Eddie Fisher who already had two goals rejected due to infringement by a defender's hand in a 1971 game against San Jose Earthquakes. The third attempt also failed because of a defender's hand in the game against D.C. United on August 17, 1995. Therefore, he finished his career with three own goals.
Fisher wasn't the only one who achieved this feat.