Can Kerala Blasters qualify for the 2020-21 season?

Can Kerala Blasters qualify for the 2020-21 season?

Although neither Kerala Blasters nor Chennaiyin FC will be able to make the playoffs, both will be hoping to conclude their Indian Super League seasons on a positive note. With only one win in their last five matches, Kerala Blasters cannot hope to catch up with leaders Chennaiyin FC at this stage. The Kolkata club have six games left while Kerala has just three. However, if things go according to plan, then Kerala might just make it.

Kerala started their campaign against Delhi Dynamos well but eventually fell short of an opening-match victory. Since then, they have been stuck in mid-table mediocrity with only one point coming from as many matches. With just three points from as many games, it looks like Kerala will not be able to finish in the top two and therefore won't be playing in the next season's Champions League.

As for Chennaiyin, they kicked off their campaign against Mumbai Indians. Although they lost that match 1-4, they managed to secure four consecutive wins after that to sit pretty at the top of the table. In fact, they haven't lost since then and have only conceded one goal in all these matches. With six games remaining, Chennaiyin look set to defend their title.

Who will qualify for IPL 2020?

The Indian Premier League 2020 playoff schedule, which includes the four qualifying teams: Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. The top two placed teams from the qualifier will advance to the playoffs while the third-placed team will have a play-off match against Australia's Melbourne Stars.

This page was last updated on 23 April 2020.

Will the Royals qualify for the playoffs in 2021?

According to Aakash Chopra, Sanju Samson's Rajasthan Royals have a little probability of making the playoffs in the 2021 IPL season. According to the former cricketer, RR will advance beyond the league stage if a number of circumstances align in their favor. He added that they would like to avoid playing in India during March-April due to the on-going coronavirus pandemic which could potentially end up delaying the tournament.

"I don't see any chance (of the Royals making the playoffs). There are just too many obstacles in their way," said Chopra. "First off, they have been eliminated from the 2020 season already. So they would have to win the next two rounds just to advance to the main event. Even then, they would need some other teams to lose their matches."

Chopra also mentioned the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic as one of the major hurdles which could end up delaying the 2021 IPL season. The world's most popular cricket league has not been played since March 10 due to the coronavirus outbreak which has caused several countries to shut down their sports activities entirely including India. It is unknown at this point when the season will resume but it is likely to be sometime in April based on previous years.

In 2018, the Royals made it to the final but lost to Chennai Super Kings by 4-1.

What is the cricket schedule for India in 2021?

The Team India cricket calendar for 2021 has already been announced for a total of ten series. Seven of the ten series, as indicated below, will be bilateral, with the other three being the Asia Cup, T20 World Cup 2021, and IPL 2021. This makes this year the busiest in recent memory for the players. With so much on the line, it's no wonder that most of them prefer not to be interviewed about their future plans until after the conclusion of the current season.

India will play five Test matches in 2021, two against New Zealand and three against Australia. A six-match ODI series will be played against New Zealand, while India will visit South Africa for a four-match series. The only T20I series scheduled in 2021 will be the three-match home series against Australia. The Indian Premier League (IPL) will also take place in 2021, with Chennai Super Kings playing the first match of the tournament on April 3rd. The final is scheduled for March 30th at the Mumbai Cricket Ground (MCG).

In 2022, India will play five Tests, three ODIs, and three T20Is against Australia. A six-match ODI series will be played against Sri Lanka, while India will visit England for a five-match series. The only T20I series scheduled in 2022 will be the three-match home series against Australia.

About Article Author

David Roark

David Roark is a passionate and knowledgeable individual when it comes to sports. He has been playing sports his whole life and loves to talk about them. Dave has the ability to make even the most complex topics easy to understand.

Related posts