Drop rule on purpose This regulation also prohibits a fielder from losing a ball on purpose in order to complete a double or triple play. If an umpire applies this rule, the drop is declared a catch, the ball is dead, and no baserunner is allowed to advance. However, if an umpire fails to call for a drop, then it cannot be called back until after the next pitch.
Its important to note that only the batter can ask for a drop. The batter has the right to request that the ball be dropped before he hits the ball. If the batter does not request a drop, then the fielders are under no obligation to drop the ball.
In addition, there are two situations where a fielder may take action without the knowledge of the batter or team manager. First, if a foul is hit into the stands by any member of the team other than the pitcher, the player with possession of the ball has the right to attempt to retire any number of players before he is required to return it to the plate. For example, if a foul is hit into the stands by one player, they have the right to try to get out another player before returning the ball to the plate. There is no requirement that they do so but if they choose not to, then they cannot be accused of dropping the ball maliciously.
When an infielder drops a fair ball or a line drive intentionally to set up a double play, runners may safely return to the bases they were on at the time of the pitch. Runners are not permitted to progress under this rule. When the ball is purposely dropped, the umpires must instantly call "Time." If they do not, then both runners are out. This rule was created to protect the players involved in the double play.
An example would be if there were no other basers on base and there was a runner on first and second with no one out. The pitcher could drop the ball so that when he hit it it would go into left field for a force out at any time. The on-field umpire would have no choice but to call time immediately so as not to risk injury to the players involved in the double play.
This rule applies only if the ball is dropped before the batter reaches first base. If the batter reaches first base before the ball is dropped, no action is required from him. However, if you examine the situation more closely, you will see that there is now a man on first who can advance to second. In order for this to work properly, we need a second player on second base. That's where the catcher comes in. Since the pitcher is responsible for throwing the ball back to the catcher, we can assume that he will wait until after the batter reaches first base before dropping the ball.
A fielder may appear to grab and retain a hit ball, then take a few strides, crash with a wall or another player, and drop the ball. There is no catch. A batter cannot be tagged out on a caught ball unless the ball is touched by a member of the infield while in flight. If it is touched by a player other than the catcher or an outfielder, then it is not a catch and the batter is allowed to continue at-bat.
However, if the ball is touched by the catcher's mitt before it hits the ground, then it is considered a caught ball and the batter is out. While it is possible to tag out a baserunner using this method, it is not recommended because it is difficult to do so safely.
It is important to note that runners are only disqualified from batting when they are caught "tagging" - that is, when a member of the opposing team touches the ball with their glove or body and tags them out. It can't just be seen happening as it is difficult to do so safely. Tagging players can use their arms for support when making the throw but cannot brace themselves against anything else. For example, they cannot use the walls of the stadium for support when throwing out base stealers because it could risk being hit by any falling balls.